Organ Music by Marcel Dupré

Organ Music by Marcel Dupré

by John Scott


$17.77 $19.99 Save 11% Current price is $17.77, Original price is $19.99. You Save 11%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


Hyperion Dyad's reissue Organ Music by Marcel Dupré featuring organist John Scott on the organ of St. Paul's Cathedral in London brings together two discs recorded at radically different times in this organ's history. The standing St. Paul's Cathedral was built in the 1690s by Christopher Wren, and while there are still a few pipes remaining from that distant time, the modern instrument mostly dates from an 1872 redesign by Henry Willis. The organ was damaged during World War II bombing raids and has undergone several reconstructions since; disc one in this set, recorded in 1986, occurred about a decade after a major overhaul of the console and keyboard had been made. The organ sounds considerably darker and its tone more dense than on disc two, which was made in 1997 and benefits from a new console and an upgrade to solid state technology. The added brightness in tone and the improved clarity of ranks may be in part the result of better recording technology, but the definition between various stops is noticeably clearer on the second disc. In addition, a pronounced rumble is louder on the second disc than the first, which may be the result of a motor, bellows, or even subtonics generated by passing traffic. The echo in the Cathedral is so long lasting that it somewhat blurs the music, an effect that must be incredible heard in person, but is somewhat less than desirable for a recording. In any event, John Scott, who enjoyed an association with St. Paul's lasting some 26 years, is the soloist, and his interpretation of Dupré is impeccably neat and follows the letter of the music, if a little stiff and somewhat less than flexible -- not necessarily the best way to go in pieces that were born out of improvisations. For most listeners the contents of these two discs will be enough Dupré to last them their entire lives, and most of his key literature is covered -- the two symphonies, which are his received heritage from his mentor Widor, the best-known preludes and fugues, and a few other things. Of these performances, the "Cortège et Litanie, Op. 19/2," is outstanding and no piece is done badly, but registrations are not changed with great frequency and there is a monochromatic effect when listening to several pieces in a row. Jeremy Filsell has recorded the entire organ output of Dupré for Guild, and for those who need more than this, that series is recommendable. However, the Hyperion Dyad Organ Music of Marcel Dupré is definitely very good for anyone who has interest in Dupré and great for the minimal asking price.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/10/2006
Label: Hyperion Uk
UPC: 0034571120591
catalogNumber: 22059
Rank: 125353


  1. Prélude and Fugue, for organ in B major, Op. 7/1
  2. Esquisse for organ in C major, Op. 41/1
  3. Esquisse for organ in E minor, Op. 41/2
  4. Esquisse for organ in B flat minor, Op. 41/3
  5. Prélude and Fugue, for organ in G minor, Op. 7/3
  6. Le Tombeau de Titelouze for organ, Op. 38/16, Placare Christe servulis
  7. Chorale and Fugue, for organ, Op. 57
  8. Le Tombeau de Titelouze for organ, Op. 38/5, Te lucis ante terminum
  9. Variations on an Old Noël, for organ, Op. 20
  10. Symphonie-Passion, for organ, Op. 23
  11. Cortège et litanie, for organ & orchestra (or organ solo), Op. 19/2
  12. Symphony for organ No. 2 in C sharp minor, Op. 26
  13. Prélude and Fugue, for organ in F minor, Op. 7/2
  14. Évocation (Poème symphonique), for organ, Op. 37: Allegro deciso

Album Credits

Performance Credits

John Scott   Primary Artist

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews