One Touch of Scandal

One Touch of Scandal

by Liz Carlyle

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, July 23

Overview

“Liz Carlyle weaves passion and intrigue with a master’s touch.”

—Karen Robards

 

With One Touch of Scandal, acclaimed New York Times bestselling author Liz Carlyle arrives at Avon Books and launches a breathtaking new historical romance series centered around the Zeno Society, a  mysterious fraternity of dangerous—and dangerously attractive—men. Fans of Amanda Quick and Gaelen Foley’s Inferno Club novels will be swept away by One Touch of Scandal, a sensuous tale with a distinct gothic flavor—the story of an imperiled beauty accused of a heinous crime…and the dark lord who risks his most carefully protected secrets to come to her rescue.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780061965753
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 09/28/2010
Series: MacLachlan Family & Friends Series , #5
Pages: 384
Sales rank: 1,205,188
Product dimensions: 7.00(w) x 11.30(h) x 1.00(d)

About the Author

A lifelong Anglophile, Liz Carlyle cut her teeth reading gothic novels under the bedcovers by flashlight. She is the author of over twenty historical romances, including several New York Times bestsellers. Liz travels incessantly, ever in search of the perfect setting for her next book. Along with her genuine romance-hero husband and four very fine felines, she makes her home in North Carolina.

What People are Saying About This

Karen Robards

Liz Carlyle weaves passion and intrigue with a master’s touch.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

One Touch of Scandal 3.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 56 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I am glad I kept reading even though the 1st 100p was a choppy and overly complicated dual storyline - until it clicked in place that it was a paranormal read. Heads up. The rest of the trilogy is not good. Anisha - Rance story is boring and overly dramatic in a repetitive annoying way barely made it to the end.
kronan1 More than 1 year ago
Excellent................................................... Good mystery. Nice romance. Not so generic sex. Touch of the mystical. Nice overall combination. If you like this type of book w/o the mystical try Ashley Gardner's Captain Lacey series. They're also excellent.
Romance_rookie More than 1 year ago
One Touch of Scandal is the first book in a new trilogy by Liz Carlyle. The trilogy revolves around a secret society, Fraternitas Aurea Crucis. Lucifer, Lord Ruthveyn is one such member. He is surprised to find Grace Guathier on the front stoop of the clubhouse in search of help. Grace has been accused of murdering her fiancé. Her father now deceased had told her if she was ever in trouble to find Sergeant Welham. Instead of finding her childhood friend, Grace finds herself ensnared by the dark enigmatic Lord Ruthveyn. There is a lot going on in One Touch of Scandal. Amongst the romance between Grace and Lucifer there is the mystery surrounding Grace's fiancé. There is also the secret society and its political intrigues and then there is a paranormal/psychic quality to Lucifer's personality. All of these different side-plots were very well thought out. I especially found the murder plot very intriguing. However, with so much going on in the book I thought the romance between Lucifer and Grace suffered some. This could be due to my lack of interest in the political parts of the book, when I would rather to get back to the romance. I liked Grace's character. She was able to pull Lucifer emotionally out behind the wall he built up around himself. The trust between these two characters was crucial and for both characters. Grace is accused of murder and Lucifer intuitively believes Grace when she says she didn't do it. He never waivers in his belief of her. Similarly, Grace accepts that Lucifer is different and patiently waits for him to trust his secrets to her. I think if the external plot points had been toned down a little I would have enjoyed the story more.
dkthain on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Now, getting away from the monstrosity that is the cover and onto the book itself. I hadn't gotten very far into this book before I realized why I had loved Ms. Carlyle's earlier books. In fact in one of my trips to Chapters, I picked up a book I didn't already have.The book starts with murder; the murder of Grace Gauthier's employer and secret fiance. It doesn't take her long to realize that she needs help as she seems to be top on the suspect list. She looks for an old friend and army officer that served under her Army father. But it seems her friend is out of town and instead she tells her worries to Adrian, Lord Ruthveyan. He's a rather mysterious guy, he and the other members of his club. Still, Grace who has always been a very good judge of men, does trust him and puts her faith and trust in his hands.And Adrian is mysterious. He's one of those tortured soul kind of heroes that are so very delicious. He has an odd talent that leads him to keep his distance from just about everyone. If he touches them or looks into their eyes, he can 'sense' things about them, such as how they will die. This keeps him apart from everyone but those in his club who all have similar kinds of 'gifts'. But for some reason he is unable to 'read' Grace and this is very calming to him. In addition, he is very attracted to her though he fights it, thinking in time, he will get glimpses into what her future holds in store for her and he will once again suffer. He tries his best to resist falling for her. He spent much of his life in India and his mother in fact was an Indian Princess and his father English which makes him a half caste hero. This doesn't really play into the story though except as another way he is separate.Grace also has had an unusual upbringing. Her mother died early and she has spent most of her life following her French Legionnaire officer father. She had come back to England after his death and was just finding a new life when it was torn apart by the death of her employer/fiance. She is also strongly attracted to Adrian, but like him, is determined to resist as she sees no future with him. But as they work together to try and clear her name, they finally are unable to resist each other.I do believe with this book, that Liz Carlyle is back on my list. I enjoyed it. Adrian was a very good tortured and mysterious hero. Grace was a heroine I really appreciated. She was quite practical and pragmatic. Despite being terrified at being a suspect, she is realizes that Adrian is her best hope for clearing her name and she trusts him to do exactly that.
readinggeek451 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Grace Gauthier's betrothed has just been murdered--and she was found standing over his body with blood on her hands. Despite that, she has not been arrested, by Assistant Commissioner Napier is determined to convict her. She seeks assistance from Lord Ruthveyn, a half-Indian diplomat with mysterious abilities. Their instant attraction complicates matters.A sensual romance with psychic overtones.
dianaleez on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
It's not Carlyle at her best, but it's far better than most of the romances on the market.
gincam on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I was quite intrigued by Adrian, Lord Ruthveyn, the hero of Liz Carlyle's "One Touch of Scandal". He is very much a tortured hero, weighted down with the curse of the gift of "Sight". He cannot touch most people or look into their eyes without seeing a flash of the future and the fate which awaits to claim its victim. When he meets the lovely Grace Gauthier, she is reeling from the murder of her fiance, for whom she had worked as a governess. Grace is one of the few people whom Adrian cannot read, and hope begins to grow in him that she may his soulmate and his salvation. Someone is determined to brand Grace a murderess, and Adrian uses all of his power to protect the woman he loves more than his own life. He is a member of the mysterious and shadowy St. James Society, an organization whose members all possess abilities beyond the norm. Adrian is the most fully-realized character. His deep love for Grace and his struggle to accept the possibility that her love for him may heal his troubled soul are both very poignant. I would have loved to gotten to know Grace better as a character, but she was a wonderful match for the heart-needy Adrian. I really enjoyed Grace and Adrian together as a couple, and it was easy to envision them happily sending sparks off each other for many years to come. Theirs will never be an easy relationship, but it will always be very, very interesting!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Normally i love this authors books, but this story i could not get into. I guessed within page 40 who the bad guy was. I also could not get into the whole psyic thing. I also wasnt big on almost all the characters. This was just an ok story, that was hard to finish.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Shortstride More than 1 year ago
Why do all the customer reviews refer to Ruthveyn as Lucifer??? His name is Adrian!!! Great book. Great match with Grace. Little supernatural but I could overlook that for the great romance involved.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Horrible
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A bit of paranormal worked in was different for a historical but i liked it
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
If you like a romance that is more than just 2 characters kissing/in bed a lot, then this is a good choice. The protagonists are each a bit mysterious, especially Adrian-and the underlying mystey is a good plot twist. Plus there are good supporting characters-Some of whom will reappear in later books.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Why did I buy this book?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Loved it!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Larimar Little More than 1 year ago
Liz Carlyle has an incredible way with words! And the steamier parts of this novel are enhanced by the more supernatural aspects of the plot. However, I have to admit I'm a little lost at the placement of all these new characters in a world Carlyle had already created. Maybe it was just time for something new, but I had come to almost expect stronger ties to her previous works.