Oath Breaker (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series #5)

Oath Breaker (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series #5)

Paperback

$6.99
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24

Overview

“Fast-paced and exciting adventure that will enthrall every reader.” —Erin Hunter, author of the New York Times bestselling Warriors series

In the fifth book in Michelle Paver’s bestselling fantasy series, a struggling hero descends down a dark path. A thrilling read for fans of Brandon Mull and Jeanne DuPrau.

When he was outcast, Torak was the hunted one. Nine moons later he becomes the hunter when he vows to avenge the killing of one of his closest friends. Racked by guilt and grief, he follows the killer into the Deep Forest, where the World Spirit stalks the hidden valleys as a tall man with the antlers of a stag.

But there is a rottenness at the heart of the Forest, for its clans have succumbed to the lies of the Soul-Eaters. Here, Torak must face fire, war, and overwhelming evil. Oath Breaker is a story about keeping promises and the true cost of vengeance.

 “Highly entertaining.” —New York Times Book Review

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780060728397
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 01/26/2010
Series: Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series , #5
Pages: 289
Sales rank: 125,017
Product dimensions: 5.10(w) x 7.50(h) x 0.90(d)
Age Range: 8 - 12 Years

About the Author

Michelle Paver was born in central Africa, but moved to England as a child. After earning a degree in biochemistry from Oxford University, she became a partner in a London law firm, but eventually gave that up to write full-time.

Chronicles of Ancient Darkness arises from her lifelong passions for animals, anthropology, and the distant past. It was also inspired by her travels in Norway, Lapland, Iceland, and the Carpathian Mountains—and particularly by an encounter with a large bear in a remote valley in Southern California.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Oath Breaker (Chronicles of Ancient Darkness Series #5) 4.7 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 19 reviews.
soldier198 More than 1 year ago
this fifth installment is a great read. this book starts right off with torak and bale standing guard watchingover a piece of the fire opal. they get into a fight about renn and torak storms off. the next morning bale is found dead and torak blames himself and he goes in search of the oak mage with renn and fin-kedinn. Their search takes them into the deep forest where a war is raging with the clans of the deep forest and torak and renn are caught in the middle. also wolf finaly realizes that torak and the others aren't wolves. how will they get out of this one read the book and find out.
GreekCowgirl More than 1 year ago
I LOVE THIS BOOK. The bonds between Torak and Renn and Wolf grew stronger throughout the book. Torak really realizes what is important. In the book Torak tries to save Renn and avenge the death of his kin and he has to set his grief and pain aside to save what matters the most including the forest. In parts of the book you want to cry and shout "WHY" but it all turns out good in the end.
bigcatluva13 More than 1 year ago
This book is amazing! I just LOVE reading these books! Parts of it, I'm crying and other parts, I'm laughing. It seems I do that in every one of these books. It is unbelieveable to see Torak and Wolf still pack-brothers, but Wolf soon learns that Tall-Tailess is different and it may shatter their bond forever. It seemed like I waited FOREVER for this book and there was good reason too. This book is AMAZING!
DelennDax7 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Oath Breaker is about a boy who lived in prehistoric times and had to learn to survive on his own. His father has died and he has been outcast from any clan. When Torak's best friend is killed, he swears vengence and goes after the killer along with another best friend and her uncle. I loved how the author enabled us to see what life was like back then and to see how people saw and interpreted their world. It was fascinating how well they could communicate with the animals--both human and animal understood & befriended one another. But, at the same time, I had a hard time wrapping my mind around the idea that humans could actually learn and speak the audible language of animals. However, it was easy to believe you were actually there, in the wild, having to fight to survive. The names that the author used in the book were a bit confusing, at times. Was that a person's name? Was that the name of a Clan? Or was that the name of something in nature? But I eventually caught on to the system. I thoroughly enjoyed this book and I'd recommend it to anyone who loves to read about prehistoric cultures. And even though I was able to understand everything in this book, I think reading the first four books would help you learn about the naming system and how the humans & animals could communicate, among other things about this culture.
BooksAplenty More than 1 year ago
I continue to love this series. In Oath Breaker, Torak's story focuses on his quest for vengeance. He demonstrates some erratic, angry behavior at first. This really annoyed me, but of course it turns out to be an important element of the story. Michelle Paver never includes loose ends. I really enjoyed the ending of this book. It is the first in the series with a happy ending, so that was a nice change. The only reason I gave it 4 stars instead of 5 is that these books are beginning to follow a bit of a pattern. It's probably smart that Paver only wrote one more. While this series is incredible, the tale has nearly run its course.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
melissas More than 1 year ago
This series just keeps getting better and better. All of the characters seem to be getting more mature and wise, including Wolf. In fact, one of his quotes is my favorite line from the series thus far- "And when the Bitten One is Not-Breath-does the pale-pelt breath again?" This thought alone speaks volumes about the nature and understanding of vengeance, which Torak is constantly faced with in this installment. I am quite depressed that the next book in the series is supposed to end it all.
moosesrule882 More than 1 year ago
I said it in the title, dumbo.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago