Not the Killing Type (Booktown Series #7)

Not the Killing Type (Booktown Series #7)

by Lorna Barrett

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback)

$7.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24

Overview

In the latest New York Times bestselling Booktown Mystery, amateur sleuth and bookstore owner Tricia Miles gets caught up in a local election that turns lethal . . .

It’s November in Stoneham, New Hampshire, and time for the Chamber of Commerce elections. The long-standing Chamber president is being challenged by a former lover—Tricia’s own sister, Angelica. Also throwing his hat in the ring is small business owner Stan Berry. Unfortunately, Stan isn’t in the race for long.

When Stan is found murdered, his political rivals become suspects. Angelica is going to need more than a vote of confidence from her sister—she needs Tricia to clear her name so she can win the election.

Tricia soon uncovers a ballot box full of lies and betrayals, and a chamber full of people who had grudges against the victim. But were they serious enough to lead to murder? It’s up to Tricia to pull the lever on a killer before it’s curtains for someone else.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780425262115
Publisher: Penguin Publishing Group
Publication date: 07/01/2014
Series: Booktown Series , #7
Pages: 336
Sales rank: 77,952
Product dimensions: 4.10(w) x 6.70(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Lorna Barrett is the New York Times bestselling author of the Booktown Mysteries, including such titles as Book ClubbedChapter and Hearse, Bookmarked for Death, and Murder on the Half Shelf.

What People are Saying About This

From the Publisher

Praise for the New York Times Bestselling Booktown Mysteries:

“Fans of Carolyn Hart and Denise Swanson, rejoice!...This first-rate cozy artfully blends crime, cuisine, and even bookselling in a cheerful, witty, well-plotted puzzler.”—Julia Spencer-Fleming, Edgar® finalist and author of One Was a Soldier

“Lorna Barrett’s new cozy creation…has it all: wonderful old books, quirky characters, a clever mystery, and a cat named Miss Marple!”—Roberta Isleib, author of Asking for Murder

“A mystery bookstore in a sleepy New England town, a cat named Miss Marple, a nasty murder, and a determined heroine make Barrett’s delightful debut mystery everything a cozy lover could want and more. Bravo!”—Leann Sweeney, author of The Cat, the Mill, and the Murder

“Tightly plotted and paced to keep you turning the pages, this series is indeed getting better with each book.”—Gumshoe Review

“Charming…An engaging whodunit.”—Publishers Weekly

“Sheer entertainment. A good rollicking read.”—Roundtable Reviews

“Perfect . . . for mystery aficionados.”—Richmond Times-Dispatch

“Fans of cozy mysteries can’t go wrong with this series.”—Fresh Fiction

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Not The Killing Type 4.2 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Bit boring. FYI Compari is too bitter to be served alone. Usually mixed with something.
the-PageTurner More than 1 year ago
This is the 7th book in the Booktown Mystery series and in my opinion the best one yet. We once again meet Tricia Mills, her sister Angelica and a host of other great characters. Tricia owns a used book store and a cat named Miss Marple and has the nickname of "village jinx" This nickname comes from the fact that she is always finding dead bodies. And this volume is no exception . When Tricia finds a dead man in a restroom the funs begins. This is a great plot, well drawn characters plus all the twists and turns Lorna Barrett is so good at. And you have to love Pixie Poe. The only down side is that I have to wait so long for number 8.
Giry More than 1 year ago
Very disappointed. Had to force myself to continue reading this book. Not as interesting as the others in this series. Tricia has become boring and stiff and her character needs to spice it up a bit - get a life and enjoy it instead of always being critical of everything. That whole thing with Grant made no sense; as a matter of fact neither did much of anything else. Just a whole lot of bits and pieces thrown together to make some kind of story. Couldn't wait for the book to come out, now I'm sorry it did.
Pixiepoe More than 1 year ago
Tricia Miles has a lot on her plate these days.  In addition to readying  her bookstore for the upcoming holiday season while keeping Pixie's "decorating" ideas in check, she has a friend's upcoming wedding and her sister's bid for Chamber of Commerce president to deal with. And she's having man problems. She has an ex who wants her back, a current beau who can't decide what he wants, an overzealous newcomer who might be trouble, and a dead man she just stumbled upon. Tricia is dragged into the investigation not only because of her involvement, but because the victim,  Stan Berry, was running against her sister Angelica for the presidency. Sure, Stan wanted to make some huge changes if elected, but is that enough of a reason to kill him? Is a family estrangement and the promise of an inheritance the motive? Or was there another reason for his untimely demise?  Not only do you get to revisit Tricia and a cast of wonderful characters, but you get a mystery that will have you saying "I didn't see that coming." Grab this book immediately and don't forget to read all the other titles in the Booktown Mystery series starting with Murder is Binding. 
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I was looking forward to this book after reading the others and the interesting way book 6 ended. This book was flat start to finish, not one redeeming character save Mr.E and Grace who play minimal part-none of the zest of the others. I will pass on any future books in the series as the author either had outside influence for this one or it has just run its course.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Lorna Barrett hits it again! Very enjoyable read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I loved this book. The Booktown Mysteries are among my most favorite cozy mysteries! I found the first one at the library, fell in love and then ordered the rest. I "splurged" on the last two books and bought myself them in hardcover so I would not have to wait. I strongly recommend you do the same! I know I could have ordered it digitally but forgive me if I love the feel of paper and the fact that when traveling, I can keep reading when the pilot announces to power down all electronics....
DAinNY1 More than 1 year ago
As always, I’m dazzled by the writing style of Lorna as we get involved in a murder, an election and intrigue as to why Stan was killed. The road to the discovery of the murderer kept me glued to the pages. The author did a good job with supplying us with plenty of suspects with a surprising twist that spun me around. This lighthearted whodunit entertained me from the first page to an ending filled with possibilities. With the addition of Pixie who is a delight, this series gets better and better and I can’t wait to see what happens next with Tricia, Angelica and the rest of the citizens of Stoneham, NH.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I've read all the books in this series and couldn't wait for this one to release. What a disappointment! While I'm able to move beyond the mid life crises stuff over, and over, and over, and over again, for the first time, I'm not sure I can finish reading this book. (for the record, my b.a. is in lit, and I've only ever put down 5 other books before finishing them, so that should attest to my disappointment. One of my most serious objections is the...cruel opinions the author projects using her normally temperate main character regarding so many things. Christmas, over weight women, weight in general, fetish's, everything. It shocks me so much because it's like an entirely different author penned this...yup, I'll say it, trash. Everyone has an opinon, and while I'm not into fetish's, some people are. But I am an over-weight woman, and honestly, the author's lack of tack is reprehensible. What has changed to make our author so unhappy with life that she takes it out on her characters? This just isn't keeping in tone with her other books in the series, and she may not keep me as a reader.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Of all the books in this series this one is very disappointing. Who wants to have a murder without any buildup or background on the victim? Also, who wants to read 100 pages of someone's mid life crises? Ms. Barrett also made this book so short it wasn't worth the cost to me.  Up until this book, I have loved every book she's written! Perhaps she needs to find her muse again because it was sure gone when she wrote this book.
SewWrite 3 days ago
It's about time someone steps up to run against Bob as Chamber of Commerce President. Both Angelica and small business owner Stan Berry step up to the plate. Stan doesn't make it far. Soon after the announcement Stan is found dead and Angelica and Bob both look like good suspects. It's up to Tricia to uncover all of the clues to find the killer. I enjoyed this book. I've never been a big fan of Bob, I don't trust him. I find his character sneaky and lazy. It was good to see him sweat over the race for the presidency of the Chamber.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Enjoyed reading as much as the other of Lorna books. I feel as l in the story myself.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I love any series that involve a bookstore and this one does not disappoint
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
cjmaine More than 1 year ago
I really enjoyed this whole series. This book was a fun and I enjoyed reading it.
TessT More than 1 year ago
I love the Booktown mysteries, by Lorna Barrett!  Humor, twists, turns, what else might I ask for in a cozy? And seeing as it's about books, my favorite things, how could I go wrong?
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
kpet More than 1 year ago
Who killed the candidate for the Chamber of Commerce Presidency? Was it Trica's sister, Angelica, or the current president, Bob Kelly? Granted, Bob is a sore loser, but would he stoop murder? Trica needs all the help she can get, including Miss Marple (her bookstore cat) to find clues. Highly Recommended, a great series.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago