My Sister's Hand in Mine: The Collected Works of Jane Bowles

My Sister's Hand in Mine: The Collected Works of Jane Bowles


$16.98 $18.00 Save 6% Current price is $16.98, Original price is $18. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, September 25


Though she wrote only one novella, one short play, and fewer than a dozen short stories over a roughly twenty-year span from the early 1940s to the mid-1960s, Jane Bowles has long been regarded by critics as one of the premier stylists of her generation. Enlivened at unexpected moments by sexual exploration, mysticism, and flashes of wit alternately dry and hilarious, her prose is spare and honed, her stories filled with subtly sly characterizations of men and, mostly, women, dissatisfied not so much with the downward spiral of their fortunes as with the hollowness of their neat little lives. Whether focused on the separate emergences of Miss Goering and Mrs. Copperfield from their affluent, airless lives in New York and Panama into a less defined but intense sexual and social maelstrom in the novella Two Serious Ladies, or on the doomed efforts of the neighbors Mr. Drake and Mrs. Perry to form a connection out of their very different loneliness in "Plain Pleasures," or on the bittersweet cultural collision of an American wife and a peasant woman in Morocco in "Everything Is Nice," Jane Bowles creates whole worlds out of the unexpressed longings of individuals, adrift in their own lives, whether residing in their childhood homes or in faraway lands that are somehow both stranger and more familiar than what they left behind.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780374529789
Publisher: Farrar, Straus and Giroux
Publication date: 09/19/2005
Pages: 496
Product dimensions: 5.53(w) x 8.17(h) x 1.32(d)

About the Author

Jane Bowles has long had an underground reputation as one of the truly original writers of this century. Born in New York City in 1917, she lived in Tangier, Morocco, with her husband, Paul Bowles, from 1952 until her death in 1973.

Table of Contents

Preface by Joy Williams

Introduction by Truman Capote

Two Serious Ladies

In the Summer House

Plain Pleasures

Plain Pleasures

Everything is Nice

A Guatemalan Idyll

Camp Cataract

A Day in the Open

A Quarreling Pair

A Stick of Green Candy

Other stories


Emmy Moore's Journal

Going to Massachusetts

From the notebooks

The Iron Table

Lila and Frank


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews