The Mozart Conspiracy (Ben Hope Series #2)

The Mozart Conspiracy (Ben Hope Series #2)

by Scott Mariani

Paperback

$25.99 View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20

Overview

A centuries-old mystery. An “accidental” death. A conspiracy that may end in murder. Former British Special Air Service officer Ben Hope is running for his life. Enlisted by Leigh Llewellyn—the beautiful, world-famous opera star and Ben’s first love—to investigate her brother, Oliver’s, mysterious death, Ben finds himself caught up in a puzzle dating back to the 1700s.

At the time of his death, Oliver was working on a new book about Mozart. Though the official report states that Oliver died in a tragic accident, the facts don’t add up. But as Ben and Leigh dig deeper, they find that Oliver’s research reveals that Mozart, a notable Freemason, may have been killed by a shadowy and powerful splinter group of the organization. The only proof lies in a missing letter, believed to have been written by Mozart himself. When Leigh and Ben receive a video documenting a ritual sacrifice performed by hooded men, they realize that the sect is still in existence today and will stop at nothing to keep its secrets.

From the dreaming spires of Oxford and Venice’s labyrinthine canals to the majestic architecture of Vienna, Ben and Leigh must race across Europe to uncover the truth behind the Mozart conspiracy before they become its next victims. In the tradition of Robert Ludlum and Dan Brown, Scott Mariani’s The Mozart Conspiracy is an electrifying thriller and the start of an exciting new series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781476788326
Publisher: Gallery Books
Publication date: 04/12/2014
Series: Ben Hope Series , #2
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 386,729
Product dimensions: 5.00(w) x 7.90(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Scott Mariani grew up in St. Andrews, Scotland. He studied Modern Languages at Oxford and went on to work as a translator, a professional musician, a pistol shooting instructor, and a freelance journalist before becoming a full-time writer. After spending several years in Italy and France, Scott discovered his secluded writer’s haven in the wilds of west Wales, an 1830s country house complete with rambling woodland and a secret passage. When he isn’t writing, Scott enjoys jazz, movies, classic motorcycles, and astronomy.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Mozart Conspiracy 3.9 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 47 reviews.
harstan More than 1 year ago
International opera star Leigh Llewellyn sends a message to her former lover Ben Hope that she needs his help. A former SAS solider, Ben immediately visits Leigh. She explains her late brother Oliver who was Ben's friend was writing a biography of Mozart when he suddenly died in Austria under questionable circumstances. She fears for her life too as she thinks her sibling was murdered over the seemingly innocuous book. Though he doubts it is foul play, Ben agrees to protect Leigh. However, as he expected to rusticate with his ex lover, Ben revises his opinion when deadly mobsters try to kill them. Apparently the father of Leigh and Ben found a previously unknown Mozart letter dated just before the great composer died. In it Mozart accuses the secret Order of Ra members of odious deeds including assassinations and provoking war. This lethal cabal remains active with Ben and Leigh in their crosshairs for elimination. The latest Ben Hope thriller (see The Doomsday Prophecy and The Heretic's Treasure) is an exhilarating tale that is a cross between Dan Brown's Da Vinci Code, Harrison Gradwell Slater's Night Music and Dick Adler's The Mozart Code. The story line is fast-paced as Ben and Leigh struggle to stay alive while the deadly operatives of the Order of Ra want them dead. Harriet Klausner
Bob555 More than 1 year ago
Enertaining, a little romance, and enough action.
Zas More than 1 year ago
You already have the gist of the tale, or how it begins. You're thinking about it... Shall simply say "Go for it!" If you are old enough to know Ludlum in his glory days, or got swept up in "The DaVinci Code", you must read this. It is as fast paced as either of these two. His use of words, sometimes sparse, sometimes evocative, always as though you were 'seeing the movie', is well worth it. And his hero, Ben Hope- a mysterious man, with heart, flaws, and the knowledge of guns and fast moving vehiles we all want. I did get so drawn in that I wanted more. 'The Mozart Conspiracy is available in the U.S. in hardcover right now. But there are five other Ben Hope adventures, availlable as ebooks. In a month, I have read three, am on my fourth. Actually, reread two... These books are, as a colleague of mine might say, smart peoples fun. You learn much along the sdventures, and then you hang on to the adventure!
gwnsad on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Ben Hope is a great new hero. Would enjoy more books with him as the main character. The language is pretty rough in this though. That will keep me from reading more of Mr. Mariani's books, I'm afraid, though. There are several great authors of thrillers/police/political books who do not find it necessary to use blue language to make it "more realistic" as is claimed by those who do use the language, so I will stick with them. It is a shame though, because this was a great read.
randalrh on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I'm not a fan of the genre ("the hero, with a wry smile and thinking of his mother, broke the henchman's neck with the third toe of his left foot"), so add a star or two if you are. I was afraid even before I received this that it would be another Amber Room, the nadir of my reading life. The Mozart Conspiracy, however, is better than that. It's plausible, if you accept the overarching secret society premise, and the characters have a little depth--maybe more if you read more Mariani. Overall, if you like thrillers, you'll probably breeze through this one and be fairly happy with it.
ruthiekro on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
I don't say this often, but this book is just awful. The plot is all over the place, the characters are thin, the writing is cliche, and the violence is gratutious. There are just enough possibilities to have kept me going to the end and what a mistake. The end is the absolute worst part and not just because it's not the desired result. I will never read this writer again!
MIWilke on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The adverstisement reads: "James Bond meets Jason Bourne meets The Da Vinci Code". Having read 2 out of those 3 I would say it does not quite meet that level. It is a good thriller but I do not think the character development is as good as that by Dan Brown. And the story line is not as fun as a James Bond book. At too many points in the story I found myself questioning the validity of a character's action. Ok, after saying all that, I do not think it is a total waste of time, rather I categorize it as light fun reading that does not require much attention. Definitely entertaining, but not as much as say, Satori which I read recently. If you could buy only one to read, go with Don Winslow's Satori.Oh and I read and have the advanced reader's edition not the hardcover.
Barnseys_Books More than 1 year ago
A thoroughly enjoyable, action-packed read. The only slight criticism I have is Ben Hope's lack of research into his employer's background. He appeared to take everything at face value, whereas a little bit of research would've been more logical. Despite this, I was hooked and will definitely be reading more of Scott Mariani's Ben Hope adventures.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Fast action, good plot. Good read
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
MiltFL More than 1 year ago
Great book. Up there with Balducci and Silva
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A decent story that just seemed to drag the further into the book I got. Believe that the book is a good solid 3 stars and would recommend it, just not real strongly. Blood and guts sceens wdere not carried oit and the relationship (love scenes) just totally flopped.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
wolfe86 More than 1 year ago
Hated the ending of this book. Otherwise a well written and paced thriller for the most part... ish... I'm not against having the type of ending in this book, it just seemed obnoxiously unnecessary. Should have quit while he was ahead.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago