Monster Music!

Monster Music!


$47.49 $49.99 Save 5% Current price is $47.49, Original price is $49.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23


Naxos' six-CD box set Monster Music! is a collection of classic horror film soundtracks that have been re-created for the digital age in recordings by conductors William Stromberg, Carl Davis, and Antoni Wit. The films evoked in this package are King Kong and House of Frankenstein (each represented by their complete scores), with selections from Bram Stoker's Dracula, Curse of the Werewolf, Son of Frankenstein, The Invisible Man, The Wolf Man, and a handful of less famous titles. The restorations and reconstructions by John Morgan preserve the music that gave these movies their emotional power and more than a few of their chills. If one composer dominates this set, it is the celebrated Max Steiner, whose musical contributions to King Kong, Son of Kong, and The Most Dangerous Game should be instantly recognized by film buffs. The set also includes scores by Hans J. Salter, Paul Dessau, Frank Skinner, Benjamin Frankel, and Wojciech Kilar, who is best known for his atmospheric music for Stoker's Dracula. The performances by the Moscow Symphony Orchestra, the Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, and the Polish National Radio Symphony Orchestra give vivid impressions that retain the energy and color of the originals. Naxos provides its customary fine sound, and though there is some variability between the different performances, which were recorded between 1994 and 2005, the set is quite consistent in audio quality.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/28/2011
Label: Naxos Special Produc
UPC: 0747313602636
catalogNumber: 8506026
Rank: 139245


Disc 1

  1. Main Title
  2. Ship at Sea
  3. In Dakang
  4. Runaway Blues
  5. Fire!
  6. An Offer of Help
  7. Memories
  8. Chinese Chatter
  9. Forgotten Island
  10. Quicksand - Little Kong
  11. The Styracosaur
  12. The Black Bear
  13. Finger Fixings
  14. Campfire at Night
  15. The Old Temple
  16. Johnny Get Your Gun
  17. Finale
  18. Main Title
  19. The Wreck
  20. The Approach
  21. Russian Waltz
  22. Incidental Music
  23. Agitato
  24. The Iron Door
  25. Night
  26. The Count Approaches
  27. Misterioso Dramatico
  28. The Chase
  29. The Chase Continues
  30. The Waterfall
  31. The Fight
  32. Escape - Finale

Disc 2

  1. Universal Signature
  2. Main Title
  3. Lightning Strikes
  4. Gruesome Twosome Escape
  5. Strangulation
  6. Off to Vasaria
  7. Chamber of Horrors
  8. Dracula Restored
  9. Dracula's Ring
  10. The Burgomaster Murdered
  11. Rendezvous with Dracula
  12. The World Beyond
  13. Dracula Pursued
  14. Dracula Destroyed
  15. Gypsy Tantums
  16. Ilonka Whipped
  17. Dan's Love
  18. The Ruins
  19. The Monstrosities
  20. Wolf Man Revived
  21. Show Me the Records
  22. Travels
  23. Hunchback's Jealousy
  24. Niemann's Laboratory
  25. Liquefying Brains
  26. Niemann's Revenge
  27. The Pentagram
  28. Full Moon
  29. Silver Bullet
  30. Dr. Niemann Successful
  31. The Moon is Full
  32. Larry at Peace
  33. Dr. Niemann Attacked
  34. Death of the Unholy Two
  35. End Cast

Disc 3

  1. Main Title
  2. A Boat in the Fog
  3. The Island - The Railing
  4. Jungle Dance
  5. Meeting with the Black Men (punia! casco!!)
  6. The Little Monkey Escapes
  7. Sea at Night - Forgotten Island
  8. Aboriginal Sacrificial Dance
  9. Entrance of Kong - The Sailors - Stegosaurus
  10. The Bronte
  11. Log Sequence
  12. Cryptic Shadows
  13. Stolen Love - The Cave
  14. The Snake - The Bird - The Swimmers
  15. The Return
  16. Hey Look Out! It's Kong, Kong's Coming!
  17. King Kong March
  18. Fanfares 1, 2, 3
  19. Kong Escapes
  20. Elevated Train Sequence
  21. Aeroplanes
  22. Finale (It was Beauty Killed the Beast)

Disc 4

  1. The Brides
  2. The Party
  3. Mina / Elizabeth
  4. Vampire Hunters
  5. Mina / Dracula
  6. The Storm
  7. Intrada
  8. Sanctus
  9. Canzona
  10. Miserere
  11. Agnus Dei
  12. Gloria
  13. The Confession
  14. Paulina's Theme
  15. Roberto's Last Chance
  16. The Beads of One Rosary
  17. Cue Numbers 26-27
  18. Cue Number 28

Disc 5

  1. Universal Signature
  2. Main Title
  3. The Message
  4. The General
  5. Discovery - Blute Solo
  6. The Examination - Looking for a Monster
  7. Death of Ygor
  8. Monster's Rampage
  9. Finale - The Cast
  10. Universal Signature
  11. Main Title
  12. Two Hours to Live
  13. Together
  14. Resting
  15. The Ghost
  16. The Return
  17. End Title
  18. Universal Signature
  19. Main Title
  20. The Telescope
  21. Wolf-Bane
  22. The Kill
  23. Bela's Funeral
  24. Desperation
  25. Sir John's Discovery

Disc 6

  1. Prelude
  2. The Beggar
  3. Servant Girl and Beggar
  4. Revenge and Escape
  5. Baptism
  6. Pastoral
  7. Leon's Assignation
  8. A Deadly Transformation
  9. Leon Confronts the Horror
  10. Leon Imprisoned
  11. Final Transformation
  12. Finale
  13. Introduction / Sea Prelude / Carriage and Pair / Long Forgotten Melody
  14. Love Theme
  15. Prelude
  16. The Prison
  17. Cat and Mouse
  18. Cardinal and Interrogator
  19. Mind Games
  20. Civil Unrest
  21. Solitary Confinement
  22. The Dark
  23. The Confession
  24. Last Meal
  25. Finale

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Moscow Symphony Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
William T. Stromberg   Conductor
Antoni Wit   Conductor
Leonid Makarevich   Piano
Polish Radio National Symphony Orchestra in Katowice   Performing Ensemble
Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra   Performing Ensemble
Carl Davis   Conductor
Krakow Philharmonic Choir   Choir, Chorus

Technical Credits

Jimmy McHugh   Composer
Max Steiner   Composer
Richard Whitehouse   Liner Notes
Wojciech Kilar   Composer
Tim Handley   Producer
Vitaly Ivanov   Engineer
Beata Jankowska   Producer,Engineer
Douglas McCarthy   Cover Image
Hans J. Salter   Composer
Mary Evans   Cover Image
Klaus Heymann   Executive Producer
Charles Previn   Composer
Edvard Shakhnazarian   Engineer
William T. Stromberg   Orchestration
Bill Whitaker   Liner Notes
Milton Rosen   Composer
Frank Skinner   Composer
Paul Dessau   Composer
Benjamin Frankel   Composer
Phil Rowlands   Engineer
Ray Faiola   Liner Notes
Ray Harryhausen   Liner Notes
John Morgan   Liner Notes,Orchestration,Score Reconstruction,Score Restoration
David Ylla-Somers   Liner Note Translation
Mark Rapp   Composer
Jozsef Szasz-fabian   Cover Image
Lennie Moore   Arranger
Jack Smith   Liner Notes
Jim Selby   Executive Producer
Bernd Delfs   Liner Note Translation
James D'Arc   Liner Notes
Dimitri Kennaway   Liner Notes

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews