by The New Mastersounds


$14.92 $17.99 Save 17% Current price is $14.92, Original price is $17.99. You Save 17%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


The New Mastersounds hit the Brit-funk scene in 2000, with a stripped-down music that was equal parts Meters groove, the syncopated invention of the J.B.'s' rhythm section, and the good-time feel of prime Booker T. & the MG's. That said, while deeply influenced -- to the point of obsession -- with the aforementioned artists, this quartet has put its own stamp on tight, dynamic instrumental funk. On Masterology, the band's musical development is charted from its first single, 2000's "Ode to Bobbie Gentry," right through to "Dusty Groove," from 2009's Ten Years On. Other highlights include -- but are far from limited to -- the woolly psychedelic funk in "La Cova" from their debut concert album, the skittering soul-jazz of "Colorado Sun (Jesse's Backyard)" from 102%, and the break-driven syncopation of "Can't Hold Me Down" from Be Yourself. The punchy guitar groove in "Thermal Bad" from Plug & Play, the shimmering groove in "Idris," and the closing cover of Jack McDuff's "Butter for Yo' Popcorn," from a French single, testify that the New Mastersounds are much more than retro funkateers; they are genuine innovators capable of putting their own stamp on whatever they choose to play. There is an earlier compilation entitled An Introduction to the New Mastersounds, released by Légère Recordings in 2007, but since only three tracks are duplicated, interested parties need have no fear. This set is the better of the two and offers a more well-rounded introduction to the band.

Product Details

Release Date: 12/07/2010
Label: Sundazed Music Inc.
UPC: 0090771121721
catalogNumber: 11217
Rank: 75544

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Mastersounds   Primary Artist
Bob Birch   Organ
Sam Bell   Conga
Simon Allen   Drums
Pete Shand   Bass
Malcolm Strachan   Horn
Dan Goldman   fender rhodes,Soloist
Jason Rae   Horn
Corinne Bailey Rae   Vocals
Eddie Roberts   Guitar,Tambourine
Joe Tatton   Keyboards
Atholl Ransome   Horn

Technical Credits

Richard Greene   Engineer
Richard Formby   Engineer
Jack McDuff   Composer
Sam Bell   Engineer
Chris Cheney   Engineer
Simon Allen   Composer
Pete Shand   Composer
Kent Sorrell   Management
Eddie Roberts   Composer
Hunter Williams   Booking
Yusuke Kitamura   Back Cover Photo
Atholl Ransome   Composer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews