Lucky Numbers

Lucky Numbers

by Dave Stewart


$12.94 $13.99 Save 8% Current price is $12.94, Original price is $13.99. You Save 8%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, August 22


Dave Stewart never seems settled solo so the abundance of guest stars on Lucky Numbers, his 2013 LP and eighth solo venture, makes perfect sense. Collaboration is his lifeblood. He thrived as a producer in the late '80s and '90s and even now, in the new millennium, he'll run at the chance to form a new consortium, as he did in 2011 when he urged Mick Jagger, Joss Stone, Damian Marley, and A.R. Rahman to become SuperHeavy. Lucky Numbers, his solo album that appeared two years later, doesn't have the same level of star power but it does make room for Stewart's Nashville pals, with Martina McBride providing the vocals on the single "Every Single Night" -- an excellent adult contemporary tune that will not be played on any radio station anywhere in 2013 -- and Karen Elson, best known as Jack White's ex, popping up on "Nashville Snow." This suggests that it might be a country album, either in the commercial or Americana sense of the word, but it's not, not at all. Lucky Numbers, like all of Stewart's solo albums, funnels his absolutely bizarre ideas through a system that flattens out all their eccentricities. At its core, Lucky Numbers remains a singularly strange record -- there are hints of roots music, either in contemplative country or Cajun-spiked rockers ("One Step Too Far"), or rewrites of "Manic Depression" ("Why Can't We Be Friends") -- but the professional producer within Stewart mediates all of his quirks so the album is slick and sweet instead of weird.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/30/2013
Label: Weapons Of Mass Ent
UPC: 5060186920368
catalogNumber: 1
Rank: 218845

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Dave Stewart   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Jeff Paris   Piano
Chad Cromwell   Percussion,Drums
Dan Dugmore   Pedal Steel Guitar,Lap Steel Guitar
Jackie Gouche   Choir, Chorus
Lynn Mabry   Choir Conductor
Debra Parson   Choir, Chorus
Michael Rhodes   Bass
Mike Rojas   Piano,Hammond Organ
Randy Cooke   Drums
Sierra Swan   Background Vocals
Tom Bukovac   Acoustic Guitar,Electric Guitar
Kieran Kiely   Accordion,Bodhran,Low Whistle
Amy Keys   Background Vocals
Caitlin Evanson   Violin
Ann Marie Calhoun   Violin
Daniel Farris   Choir, Chorus
John Bohlinger   Guitar,Soloist
Carol Hatchett   Choir, Chorus
Davion Farris   Choir, Chorus
Michael Bradford   Bass
Tiffany Gouché   Choir, Chorus
Shaleah Stubblefield   Choir, Chorus
Andie Jane De La Torre   Background Vocals
Allison Bond   Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Lynn Mabry   Choir Contractor
Patrick MacDougall   Engineer
Dave Stewart   Composer,Producer
Ned Douglas   Engineer
Vanessa Amorosi   Choir Arrangement
John McBride   Producer,Engineer
Irene Silva   Layout
Mitch Schneider   Publicity
Cameron Randall   Artwork

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews