L.A. Outlaws (Charlie Hood Series #1)

L.A. Outlaws (Charlie Hood Series #1)

by T. Jefferson Parker

Paperback(Large Print Edition)

$15.95 View All Available Formats & Editions

Overview

For fans of Michael Connelly and CJ Box, here is the first thrilling adventure in the Charlie Hood series from New York Times bestseller and Edgar-award winner T. Jefferson Parker, author of The Room of White Fire.

In this town, it pays to be bad . . .

Allison is an L.A. celebrity, a folk hero, and a modern-day Jesse James who loves a good armed robbery. She has a compulsion to steal, a knack for publicity, and the conscience to give it all to charity. In fact, one of her biggest fans is a cop. And no one’s ever been hurt—until last night. Now she and the rookie deputy are on the run for their lives.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781594133060
Publisher: Gale Group
Publication date: 02/03/2009
Series: Charlie Hood Series , #1
Edition description: Large Print Edition
Pages: 370
Product dimensions: 5.50(w) x 8.40(h) x 1.00(d)
Age Range: 17 Years

About the Author

T. Jefferson Parker is the author of numerous novels and short stories, the winner of three Edgar Awards, and the recipient of a Los Angeles Times Book Prize for mysteries. Before becoming a full-time novelist, he was an award-winning reporter. He lives in Fallbrook, California.

Hometown:

Fallbrook, California

Date of Birth:

December 26, 1953

Place of Birth:

Los Angeles, California

Education:

B.A. in English, University of California-Irvine, 1976

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

L.A. Outlaws (Charlie Hood Series #1) 3.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 31 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
This was the first T. Jefferson Parker book I've read and even though it was not a 'great' book, I enjoyed it enough to read another. I got the impression it was written to eventually be made into a movie because the character development and storyline was a little thin at times. Still, it was a very enjoyable book and I have already recommended it to some friends. It would be fun to see a book where Jeff's characters cross paths with someone like Elvis Cole! I also enjoyed meeting the author recently and getting the book signed. He is a very friendly and interesting man.
Guest More than 1 year ago
T. Jefferson Parker continues to build a reputation as one of the top writers of suspense thrillers in the game. With L.A. Outlaws, he has delivered his most satisfying book yet. Allison Murrieta surely ranks as one of the most uniquely compelling characters to populate the world of crime fiction in years. Written in a smooth, highly readable style that combines vivid settings with a breakneck pace, this is one book sure to please Parker's many fans - and win him a lot of new ones.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Action, complexity, heart, and a fair seasoning of irony on top. It just doesn't get any better than T. Jefferson, and this is clearly up to his standard, excellent level of wiritng. The guy has the ability to write a tale which is engaging, often bizarre, and heart-touching, all at the same time. He also knows "Southern Cal," "L.A.," or whatever you want to call this weird place where I was born and where I live. The strange stuff Parker writer writes about doesn't happen here every day, but it happens often enough --- and painfully enough --- that there is never any doubt in this book --- or ANY of his books --- that he has the cultural geography nailed. This book is fine enough to be called "actual literature," but because of the genre and style, it probably never will be. Enjoy what the literary gurus will probably miss.
arkie23 More than 1 year ago
Was hoping for a more character friendly ending but was still a fun read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The main characters are still vivid to me three months after a friend gave me this book to read. I'm now delightedly making my way through all of Parker's novels.
Guest More than 1 year ago
I must admit that I really got my money's worth with this book (I purchased it at BN in the clearance books section). I enjoyed the characters, the plot, the twists and turns, too. This book kept me up a few nights because I couldn't put it down. This was my first time purchasing a book by T. Jefferson Parker, but it CERTAINLY will not be my last. Keep up the good work T. Jefferson!
Reacherfan on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
Wow....as I said, this was my first and last Parker book. I've seen his books in the library and thought I'd start with this one. Man, this was a bad choice. The characters seemed very flat and very boring. I honestly couldn't see where the plot was going. One of the main characters is a cop named Charlie Hood, who's a cop, and for some reason, I didn't think he was that smart. He just seemed very odd to me. Parker had him use phrases like (when he was thinking of a woman he pulled over eariler) "He felt skinned." What?! What does that even mean? For me, this was a very odd read. I suggest you get this at the library like I did.
blueslibrarian on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
This novel follows the exploits of Elizabeth Jones nee Allison Muerrita, mild mannered schoolteacher by day, daring armed robber by night. While plotting to relieve a desperate jeweler of a half-million dollars in diamonds she becomes a reluctant witness to a gang related massacre that leaves ten men dead. The trail of bodies leads to her desert home and she must take to her heels to stay alive. Protected by a young cop who is beginning to catch on to her double identity and is being played by corrupt and greedy superiors, she must escape the clutches of the evil man out to slay her and reclaim the gems. It must be said that Parker gives excellent voice to his characters, he writes in a smooth, flowing manner that makes for a good tale. The problem is this: like teenagers fumbling in the backseat of a car, the story just climaxes too fast, and the final chunk of the book is a perfunctory wrapping up of loose ends. Parker has been on the verge of putting together a truly fine crime novel for some time now. He has all the pieces; if he can ever nail the plot and pacing he has the potential to uncork something really special.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Highly improbable. Too long. Some engaging characters but the bad guys way too bad, particularly the Mexican machete-wielding assassin.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago