It's Always the Husband: A Novel

It's Always the Husband: A Novel

by Michele Campbell

NOOK Book(eBook)

$9.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

"If you loved Liane Moriarty’s Big Little Lies, put this thriller on the top of your list…you won’t be sure “whodunit” until the very (shocking) end.
—Today

*Named one of "50 Best Books for the Beach" by Coastal Living
*Named one of "7 Books You Won't Be Able to Put Down This Month" by InStyle
*Named one of "6 Books to Cure Your Little Big Lies Withdrawal" by Elle.com
*Named one of "20 Must-Read Books for Spring 2017" by Redbook
*Named one of "8 Thrillers You Will Devour This Summer" by BuzzFeed

Kate, Aubrey, and Jenny first met as college roommates and soon became inseparable, despite being as different as three women can be. Kate was beautiful, wild, wealthy, and damaged. Aubrey, on financial aid, came from a broken home, and wanted more than anything to distance herself from her past. And Jenny was a striver—brilliant, ambitious, and determined to succeed. As an unlikely friendship formed, the three of them swore they would always be there for each other.

But twenty years later, one of them is standing at the edge of a bridge, and someone is urging her to jump.

How did it come to this?
Kate married the gorgeous party boy, Aubrey married up, and Jenny married the boy next door. But how can these three women love and hate each other? Can feelings this strong lead to murder? When one of them dies under mysterious circumstances, will everyone assume, as is often the case, that it’s always the husband?

A suspenseful, absorbing novel that examines the complexities of friendship, It’s Always the Husband will keep readers guessing right up to its shocking conclusion.

Praise for It's Always the Husband:

“A page-turning whodunnit that will speak to anyone who’s ever had a frenemy.” –Ruth Ware, bestselling author of The Woman in Cabin Ten

"This book is perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty's Big Little Lies." –Redbook Magazine

"Fans of Ruth Ware and Gillian Flynn meet your next obsession." —BuzzFeed

"In the tradition of Big Little Lies comes the excellently titled It's Always the Husband, a thriller about three friends–frenemies, really–who met as college roommates." –New York Post

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781250081827
Publisher: St. Martin's Press
Publication date: 05/16/2017
Sold by: Macmillan
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 320
Sales rank: 1,467
File size: 3 MB

About the Author

A graduate of Harvard University and Stanford Law School, MICHELE CAMPBELL worked at a prestigious Manhattan law firm before spending eight years fighting crime as a federal prosecutor in New York City.

A graduate of Harvard University and Stanford Law School, Michele Campbell worked at a prestigious Manhattan law firm before spending eight years fighting crime as a federal prosecutor in New York City.

Michele is the author of She Was the Quiet One and It's Always the Husband.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

It's Always the Husband 4.1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 34 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down! I was on the edge of my seat the whole time. This story would make an excellent movie... I felt like I was watching one while I was immersed in the book. I can't wait to read more by this author.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I haven't read a book that was this unputdownable in a while. The writing was superb, each character was so vivid in my mind that I was fully invested in each one. Literally had me guessing up until the very last page. I highly recommend !! If you're anything like me, where you read reviews trying to figure out the next book you're going to buy, you've found it!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I thought it was a good book. It kept you guessing and wondering throughout the book. The characters are interesting and its a great plot. I really liked the way the author writes. The only reason I didn't give it 5 stars was the ending didn't sum up all the characters lives. Just the killer.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a great read- traces a friendship of 3 women from college freshmen to adulthood. Boyfriends, husbands, secrets, all combine for a great ending!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I wasn't sure if I'd like this book, I've never read from this author before. But it was a good story with good character development. The end had a good twist and kept me guessing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Had my suspensions, but still didn't see it coming!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Interesting to the very last page!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This is a page turner for sure. One of my favorite reads. M Byrd
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I didn't want to put it down. Author provided detail and insight in such a manner that wasn't exhausting. It kept me hooked until the very end.
Kinseylb More than 1 year ago
The book drew me in at the beginning and then got slow and never gained back the speed. I honestly got bored and was anxious to finish-not because I wanted to find out what happened but because I wanted put out of my misery. I agree with other posts-none of the characters are likable and the story was far-fetched.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
This was not at all what I expected. I was knocked over by the suspense, the lack of predictability, and down-right surprising nature of this tremendous psychological mystery/drama. Just when I thought that I knew what was happening, I found that I had no idea. The story details the intersection of three college friends. Then something happens that alters their futures forever. What that is and how it tears at their friendship is for me to know and for you to find out.
anrobe More than 1 year ago
I am struggling a bit with rating this one. It may be closer to a 3 ½ than a 3. But, it definitely wasn’t quite a 4 for me. I think part of it is that I expected one thing based on the description and title but found something rather different upon reading it. This is the story of 3 college friends and their friendship over 20 years. It’s about social status, secrets, betrayal, corruption, and the ways we hurt the people we care about. There is suspense as well as a murder mystery at the heart of the novel but it felt, in many ways, like more of a study of friendship to me than a suspense novel. And it did have an effective ending – I thought I had it all figured out but ended up being wrong which was a nice surprise for me. I did find it difficult to like most of the characters in this book but that didn’t affect my enjoyment of the story itself. I saw it more as a character study of three very different but very flawed people and how they have affected each other over time. Sure, they ended up being far from likeable but I didn’t mind that. Although I found most of their behavior towards each other to be despicable, I still enjoyed the ride. More than anything, I was taken by the narrative and what it said about friendship and how it can change into something very ugly. The effect these people had on each other made me a little sick to my stomach. How being close to someone can twist and change over time into something disturbing was an interesting thing to ponder coming out of this book. All in all, I’m glad that I read it but it’s not going to end up on my favorites list. But, if the exploration of friendship sounds interesting to you, I think you may like where this one takes you.
Anonymous 1 days ago
Great+read...+took+a+little+to+get+into+but+then+in+picked+up.+Great+ending%21
Anonymous 11 days ago
Wish there was more at the ending to show where the other characters ended up after everything had happened. Over all a good read, just think there were some loose ends with a majority of the characters who we read about throughout the entire novel.
Anonymous 20 days ago
Anonymous 20 days ago
Anonymous 20 days ago
Anonymous 20 days ago
Anonymous 20 days ago
Anonymous 20 days ago
Anonymous 28 days ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Supposedly a page turner, a thriller that will keep you from putting it down - it was one of the worst books I ever read - not a page turner, not a thriller - a snooze fest - I usually pass the good books I get from B&N on to my friends - this one is going in the trash. So boring, so not thrilling.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
It was pretty entertaining and I liked that the story jumped from time period to time period.
CCinME More than 1 year ago
It's Always the Husband....or is it? Very good read with lots of twists and turns that keep you guessing until the last few paragraphs.
Fredreeca2001 More than 1 year ago
This novel follows three girls, college roommates and best friends for life. Each one is very different from the other and each one comes from a different background. Kate is a magnet for all things bad….drugs, alcohol, and men! Jenny is the mother hen. She tries to fix everything that goes wrong. And Aubrey, well, she is from the wrong side of the tracks and follows Kate wherever she leads. One of them ends up dead! This is a slow read. Well, maybe I should say, it is laying the ground work for the finale, which is a WOW moment. It does pick up about half way through the book and then moves pretty rapidly. I did figure out the murderer. The author drops several hints and if you are paying attention….YOU GOT IT! It is overly dramatic in places but, that could be because you are dealing with young adults through most of this read. It rotates between time periods, the girls college years and around their 40 year old selves. I did not enjoy any of the characters and I do think that was intentional by the author. I believe this is why the first part of this novel to moved slowly. I probably would have enjoyed it more if I related to one of the girls. This is an interesting mystery that CAN leave you guessing till the end. I received this novel from the publisher for a honest review.