House of War (Ben Hope, Book 20)

House of War (Ben Hope, Book 20)

by Scott Mariani

NOOK BookePub edition (eBook - ePub edition)

$5.99
View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now

Overview

The new thriller from the Number One bestseller.‘Thrilling. Scott Mariani is at the top of his game’ ANDY MCDERMOTT

A DEADLY TERROR PLOT. A RACE AGAINST THE CLOCK. WILL EVIL PREVAIL?

Following a chance encounter with a terrified young woman in the streets of Paris, former SAS soldier Ben Hope finds himself hurled into a violent new mission involving murder, international terrorism and stolen historic artifacts. A mission made even more perilous by the reappearance of an old enemy from Ben’s military past. A man he knew and fought years ago. A man he thought was dead.

Teaming up with the enigmatic ex-Delta Force warrior Tyler Roth, Ben travels from the seedy underworld of Paris to the islands of the Caribbean in his quest to piece together the puzzle.

As the death toll quickly mounts, he unmasks a vicious terror plot that could bring about the slaughter of millions of innocent people. Mass destruction seems just a hair’s breadth away … and only Ben Hope can prevent the unthinkable.

Compelling from the first page until the last, Mariani and his fabulous protagonist Ben Hope entertain in a gripping tale that will have you turning the pages well into the night’ MARK DAWSON

House of War has it all – history, action, devious scheming and eye-opening detail. Mariani delivers a twisting storyline and raises the terrifying question: how would we survive if this really happened?’ DAVID LEADBEATER

A must-read for fans of Dan Brown, Lee Child and Mark Dawson. Join the millions of readers who can’t get enough of Ben Hope’s adventures…

Whilst the Ben Hope thrillers can be read in any order, this is the twentieth book in the series.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780008235994
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Publication date: 10/31/2019
Series: Ben Hope , #20
Sold by: HarperCollins Publishers
Format: NOOK Book
Pages: 432
Sales rank: 9,597
File size: 2 MB

About the Author

Scott Mariani is the author of the worldwide-acclaimed action / adventure series featuring maverick ex-SAS hero Ben Hope. Scott’s books have topped the bestseller charts in his native Britain, with The Alchemist’s Secret, the first Ben Hope novel, having held the #1 Kindle position for a record-breaking six straight weeks. The Ben Hope series is translated into over twenty languages worldwide.

Scott was born in Scotland, studied in Oxford and now lives and writes in rural west Wales.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

House of War (Ben Hope, Book 20) 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
JacquiH 2 days ago
The Ben Hope stories always were a high octane thrilling journey and this one continues; book 20 in the series, wow. I last read book 10 so am definitely out of date. This has the same basic premise though - Ben, ex SAS, previously trainee priest is still running his own security training business in France. On his way home he is run into by a girl in Paris, she drops her bag and contents scatter, he picks them up, she runs off, he then finds her phone and, with his 'spy' skills finds out where she lives. As he's going up the stairs to her apartment a man passes on the way down. Vague familiarity. Girl's flat; girl dead and off we go. Ben realises that the man on the way down is an old enemy and not dead as Ben believed. Muslim terrorists of the most fundamental and nasty kind are involved in stealing historic artefacts and developing a system to spread drugs to slaughter millions of people. They lead Ben and an old mate, ex Delta Force Tyler Roth, round the houses, always one step ahead with murder and mayhem, quick thinking by our hero and so on. There are rather a lot of "just misses" and a bloody finale of the best kind. The only reason I dropped a star, and almost 2, was the frankly, vituperative diatribe by Roth against the Quran and all Muslims with Ben only mildly saying that the Bible has some pretty extreme passages in it too. I suppose he is only a character and that that was his feeling but it felt distinctly uncomfortable and I really hoped that he would get his uppance before the end! If we have that much on the subject then Ben should have argued the case for the non fundamentalist Muslims who are in the vast majority. The book is well-written and I believe that the author does a goodly amount of research given the detailed descriptions of various toys, gizmos and the like. James Bond - you still have a rival and without the girls. Thanks to NetGalley and Avon Books UK for an advance copy in exchange for my honest opinion.
MKF 12 days ago
I hadn't read any (any) of the preceding 19 (!) books but was just fine with this one. There's lot of action, a great hero in Ben Hope, and the requisite evil villain in Nazim, an ISIS fighter determined to commit big terrorist acts. Hope and his cohort Tyler Roth work well together (love the dialogue). If this sometimes seems a bit out there, note that you are turning the pages to find out what's going to happen. There are good guys, there are bad guys, and hope triumphs over all. Thanks to Netgalley for the ARC. For action fans.
Anonymous 12 days ago
Oh Mr Mariani. I must confess that I think I'm falling a little in love with Ben Hope. Loved loved loved it. Fast paced and action packed with just the right amount of doing the right thing mixed with blood guts and gore. What's not to like? Superb Many thanks.
Anonymous 12 days ago
Oh Mr Mariani. I must confess that I think I'm falling a little in love with Ben Hope. Loved loved loved it. Fast paced and action packed with just the right amount of doing the right thing mixed with blood guts and gore. What's not to like? Superb Many thanks.