Harmony [Digital Download]

Harmony [Digital Download]

by Serena Ryder


View All Available Formats & Editions


Serena Ryder's sixth studio album, 2013's Harmony, showcases the Canadian singer/songwriter's soulful and bluesy music mixing Dusty Springfield-esque '60s R&B with a contemporary pop aesthetic. Ryder has a huge following in Canada, where her albums have gone gold and platinum and earned her several Juno awards. Prior to the release of her single "Stompa" -- included on Harmony -- she was not as well known in the United States, but the release of Harmony will probably go a long way toward raising her profile outside of Canada. Ryder possesses a powerful voice with a throaty timbre and a nasal resonance, making her the perfect vehicle for her brand of soulful rock. Not surprisingly, she's drawn favorable comparisons to both Melissa Etheridge and Adele, and Harmony will do nothing to dissuade such allusions. Admittedly, Ryder fits snugly into the post-Amy Winehouse crew of female vocalists with songs that oscillate between moments of Southern soul, contemporary R&B, and mainstream melodic rock. If Ryder's voice weren't so engaging, or if she weren't so emotionally believable on Harmony, some of the Winehouse/Mark Ronson-esque production via Jerrod Bettis and Jon Levine might cause the average listener, bombarded with a slew of Winehouse-wannabes, to tune out. However, Ryder is such a compelling singer and her songs are, by and large, so catchy that such generalities are easy to dismiss. Primarily, Ryder avoids the retro-tag by delivering a handful of gutsy, organic torch songs like "Please," "Heavy Love," and "Mary Go Round," all of which owe far less to the stylized production and more to the unique sound of her voice and the quality of her songwriting. [Harmony was also released as a digital download.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/27/2013
Label: Capitol
UPC: 5099998417728
catalogNumber: 001848602

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Serena Ryder   Primary Artist,Guitar,Vocals
Jon Levine   Bass,Keyboards
Ana Landauer   Violin
Andrew Duckles   Viola
Aidan Hawken   Background Vocals
Brent Kutzle   Strings
Alisha Bauer   Cello
Jerrod Bettis   Bass,Guitar,Piano,Drums,Keyboards,Background Vocals

Technical Credits

Dan Burns   Composer
Screamin' Jay Hawkins   Composer
Jon Levine   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer,Instrumentation
Jeff Coplan   Composer
Joe Zook   Additional Production
Michael Gorman   Management
Serena Ryder   Composer
Aidan Hawken   Composer
Rachelle Dupéré   Artistic Director
Rob Simonsen   String Arrangements
Sandy Pandya   Management
Jerrod Bettis   Composer,Programming,Producer,Engineer
Meghan Kabir   Composer
Brad Haenhel   Engineer

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews