Groomed

Groomed

NOOK Book(eBook)

$3.99

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details

Overview

Can a dog have a bad hair day?

Brooke Palmer owns Pawlish, an exclusive doggie spa and grooming business in upper Manhattan, but when a client's champion poodle gets a bad poodle cut and has to undergo therapy to recover, the client sues. The lawyer they send is drop dead gorgeous, but Brooke won't be wooed by a corporate shark in a sharp suit.

Corporate lawyer Drew Hudson has better things to do then take on this ridiculous lawsuit, but since he works for the client's husband, he has no choice. After meeting the beautiful, sweet-tempered owner, he can't keep his mind on the silly case. But when the client turns up dog gone dead, Brooke may be a conflict of interest when she's charged with the murder. All Drew wants to do is prove that this sexy entrepreneur is not dangerous, except to his heart.

Can she take a chance on him?

Other Going to the Dogs Books
Leashed #1(Free)
Hounded #3
Collared #4

Other books by this Author - A Perfect Secret Series - New Adult Contemporary Mystery
A Perfect Mess - available now
A Perfect Mistake (coming December 2013)
A Perfect Dilemma (coming soon)

Product Details

BN ID: 2940016133928
Publisher: Blue Moon Creative, LLC
Publication date: 12/28/2012
Series: Going to the Dogs , #2
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 177,532
File size: 509 KB

About the Author

Zoe Dawson is the alter ego of Karen Anders, award winning, multi-published author. Her writing journey started with poetry and branched out into fiction. With a couple of college English courses under her belt, she penned a historical, then moved onto contemporary romance fiction.

She's launched the first book in her self-published Going to the Dogs Series. Leashed begins the tails (pun intended) of four New York City dog professionals who meet at a dog park and become fast friends. Out now, Groomed for Murder, Book #2

She is also publishing with Entangled Publishing and will have her debut novel out with them in 2013. It's the first book of the six book The Misfit Squad Series of police procedurals, featuring a group of troubled homicide detectives who have landed in the "last chance" squad. If they don't shape up, they're out.

Today, she is happy producing romantic suspense, romantic mystery, and soon paranormal and urban fantasy novels. The words feed her soul and the happily ever afters feed her heart.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Groomed 4.4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 14 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
All these were great short stories to read love laughter family and friends are what make life worth living pets are part of the family ask any pet owner
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Nice!
Jasmyn9 More than 1 year ago
This book was a bit of a disappointment for me. I had a difficult time believing a person like Brooke could exist. She was one of those overly perfect characters that's just far too good to be true. Drew was much more believable, and I actually enjoyed his part of the story. The torn feeling he had between following his work or following his heart and inner moral compass. Brooke's client that ends up suing her was quite a hoot - until she ends up dead. Now this event takes awhile to happen so we get to see a few very memorable scenes with the snooty woman that had me chuckling. I wish there had been more about this whole part of the story. There seemed to be no real investigation or reason to think Brooke did it - it was just handy to have that happen for the story. I would have liked to see Roscoe, the bulldog, more involved as well. When I see a book that invovles pets, I expect them to have more of a role than just the pet that happens to be in a lot of scenes.
Koalabear3 More than 1 year ago
A fast paced romance and mystery all rolled into one. I love the cover of the book. Brooke has worked hard to start up her dog grooming business. Now because of one spoiled little dog and a witch of a owner they try to destroy Brooke and her business. Drew the lawyer on the case is attracted to Brooke. All Drew wants to do is work work work. Can he find love with Brooke and balance work and a love life? Than Brooke is accused of murder. Can she prove her innocence? Read the book today to find out. This book will not disappoint you. Looking forward to the next book in the series!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Weird...
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Boom
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Jutzie More than 1 year ago
Groomed For Murder by Zoe Dawson Going to the Dogs Series Book 2 Brooke Palmer has worked hard to establish her dog spa, Pawlish. Now one spoiled rich woman with a spoiled poodle wants to ruin her because of her uncontrolled dog. When threatened by a lawsuit and the hunky lawyer who is trying to settle out of court, she still refuses to give in. To the court case that is, it’s hard not to give in to those stunning green eyes and silky blond waves. Just when she thinks things can’t get any worse, they do. Drew Hudson has worked hard since his parents death. He has his sister to take care of and even if it means working at something that he don’t enjoy, tough. He’ll do anything to become a partner in the law firm. Even take a case for the bosses wife, getting some woman to settle the case of a bad dog haircut out of court. He is going to use all his charm to manipulate this woman. Or so he thought. A kind hearted woman and her dog remind Drew who he use to be. But can he ever go back to that person? The first book in this series is Leashed. The books are about four friends who have met at the local dog park. They are all unique with special dogs ranging from a Great Dane to a prized poodle with a bulldog and two very mischievous Jack Russell’s in between. They are filled with humor and friendship with a added dose of sensual heat and you may even need a few tissues handy.  **Sexual content and language **Received through NetGalley for review
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
lissasue25 More than 1 year ago
I received an ARC in return for an honest review of this book. "Groomed for Murder" begins with Brooke Palmer, the owner of Pawlish, trying to placate an unhappy customer. Normally Brooke can soothe over situations like this, but in the event of this one, the customer is simply asking for too much. Brooke is a kind, gentle and giving woman who is constantly helping other people. Enter Drew Hudson, the lawyer assigned to the lawsuit by the unhappy customer. He is immediately taken with Brooke. Things aren't easy when the customer suing Brooke turns up dead, with Brooke being the prime suspect. Zoe Dawson simply has a great way of telling a story. Her book drew me in from the beginning and sunk its hook into me. I couldn't put it down until I was finished. Brooke's character will warm your heart while Drew's character will make you beg for more. Dawson's description of the chemistry between the two of them is definitely one that will warm your heart - it can only be described as lust/love at first sight. Brooke's friends care about her and it definitely shows in their actions. "Groomed for Murder" will leave you begging for more from the author of the Going to the Dogs series. Of course, I have to go back and read "Leashed" Book #1; however, the book can be read as a standalone and the reader not get completely lost. That is definitely the best part about this series. When reading most book series, if you miss a book, you can get lost but Dawson definitely keeps you going and wanting more.
cathydianeb More than 1 year ago
 Brooke is the type that does for everyone instead of herself, she helps her neighbors, volunteers a lot and protects those she cares for. She is spread thins with renovations in her business, baking dog treats, and helping plan Callies wedding while she is feeling low about  Maybe loosing Callie to Owen and her bulldog Roscoe is over the age most bulldog live and she has had him since she was a young girl.  When one of her clients isn’t happy with a groomer and o wants her fired Brooke stands ground even when the woman’s Charming lawyer tries to woo her and change her mind. I absolutely loved this story. I thought the first one was good but this one even topped that.  I loved how the relationship with Drew and Brooke didn’t just fall in to place fast and it was a hard win love with lots of ups and downs.  I loved the real life issues between Callie and Brooke and the other girls in their friend group.  The mystery in this one was a real shocker and a cute twist. What a great way to spend an evening on the edge of your seat and chuckling as well as sighing. What girl doesn’t like a good, hot, sexy, romance and toss n a dog and a little mystery?  Yeah great story and I can’t wait for the next book to see who Poe’s romance will be! Recommendations: If you like bulldogs, best friends, down to earth main character, dog groomers, lawyers, Weddings, and some sweet hot romance  with mystery and intrigue presented in a cute and charming way this is definitely for you!
gaele More than 1 year ago
Continuing in the tradition of Leashed, Zoe Dawson has created another story to engage and entertain, that had me reading it in one sitting, picking up shortly after finishing the first in this Going to the Dogs series.  Picking up where Leashed left off, nearly literally, this book focuses on Brooke, one of the four women we will follow in this series that met and bonded over Saturday mornings at the dog park. Brooke is a business owner, non-stop volunteer with a penchant for caring for others: from her elderly neighbors to her friends and even the homeless. Characterizations in this story bring Brooke to life to the reader, despite her own abandonment issues; she is tenacious about her attention to the little details that make everyone feel special, often to the detriment of her own well-being. Drew is a lawyer assigned to manage the lawsuit against Brooke’s business that were a result of an owner‘s irascibility and vindictiveness. His near obsessive need to succeed and provide have narrowed his world to work and money, until he meets Brooke. What ensues is a cleverly plotted, well defined romance that highlights Dawson’s trademarked humor and pithy conversation. In a quick and fun read that made me smile on nearly every page, this book spoke to both the romantic and dog lover in me. This is a series to read on those “bleh” days, as it will leave you feeling happy and curious about the next in the series. I received an eBook copy from the author for purpose of honest review as part of the Indie Authors Rock promotion on I am, Indeed. I was not compensated for this review, and all conclusions are my own responsibility.