Great Twenty-Eight [2 LP]

Great Twenty-Eight [2 LP]

by Chuck Berry

Vinyl LP(Long Playing Record)

$23.74 $24.99 Save 5% Current price is $23.74, Original price is $24.99. You Save 5%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


This is the place to start listening to Chuck Berry. The Great Twenty-Eight was a two-LP, single CD compilation that emerged during the early '80s, amid a brief period in which the Chess catalog was in the hands of the Sugar Hill label, a disco-oriented outfit that later lost the catalog to MCA. It has proved to be one of the most enduring of all compilations of Berry's work. Up until the release of this disc, every attempt at a compilation had either been too sketchy (the 1964 Greatest Hits album on Chess) or too demanding for the casual listener (the three Golden Decade double-LP sets), and this was the first set to find a happy medium between convenience and thoroughness. Veteran listeners will love this CD even if they learn little from it, while neophytes will want to play it to death. All of the cuts come from Berry's first nine years in music, including all of the major singles as well as relatively minor hits such as "Come On" (which was more significant in the history of rock & roll in its cover version performed by the Rolling Stones as their debut release). In the decades since its release, there have been more comprehensive collections of Berry's work, but this is the best single disc. [In 2017, The Great Twenty-Eight was reissued in a two-LP vinyl edition.]

Product Details

Release Date: 08/04/2017
Label: Geffen Records
UPC: 0602557624083
catalogNumber: 002675801
Rank: 9094


Disc 1

  1. Maybellene
  2. Thirty Days
  3. You Can’t Catch Me
  4. Too Much Monkey Business
  5. Brown Eyed Handsome Man
  6. Roll Over Beethoven
  7. Havana Moon
  8. School Days
  9. Rock and Roll Music
  10. Oh Baby Doll
  11. Reelin’ and Rockin’
  12. Sweet Little Sixteen
  13. Johnny B. Goode
  14. Around and Around

Disc 2

  1. Carol
  2. Beautiful Delilah
  3. Memphis
  4. Sweet Little Rock and Roller
  5. Little Queenie
  6. Almost Grown
  7. Back in the U.S.A.
  8. Let It Rock
  9. Bye Bye Johnny
  10. I’m Talking About You
  11. Come On
  12. Nadine (Is It You?)
  13. No Particular Place to Go
  14. I Want to Be Your Driver

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews