Good Luck Charm

Good Luck Charm

by The Mastersons


$12.16 $15.99 Save 24% Current price is $12.16, Original price is $15.99. You Save 24%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, September 20


The second album from husband-and-wife alt-country duo the Mastersons unwittingly makes a good case for the institution of marriage -- if you harmonize as well with someone as Chris Masterson and Eleanor Whitmore do on 2014's Good Luck Charm, it's hard not to imagine that you were meant to be together, and if not every song on this set is a joyous proclamation of love, their performances are as much about great personal chemistry as two voices that blend well. It doesn't hurt that Masterson and Whitmore pick as well as they sing; he shows subtle strength on a variety of guitars, and she's a whiz on the fiddle, and here they anchor a tight, capable little studio band that can go from the elegiac "I Found You" to the strutting "Closer to You" without missing a step. The fact Masterson's voice bears a close resemblance to Mark Olson certainly plays to their stylistic similarities to alt-country icons the Jayhawks, but while the Jayhawks could never quite shake the Minnesota chill in their songs, it's no surprise that Masterson and Whitmore are originally from Texas, as the bigger, warmer horizons are audible in these tracks even if the Mastersons call New York home these days. As strong as the songs and the performances are (and "It's Not Like Me" and "Cautionary Tale" are very good songs), it's those vocals that elevate Good Luck Charm into something out of the ordinary, and the Mastersons are smart enough to keep them front and center throughout. The family that sings together makes a pretty good album, or at least that's the case with Good Luck Charm.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/08/2014
Label: New West Records
UPC: 0607396630820
catalogNumber: 6308
Rank: 134316

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Mastersons   Primary Artist
Greg Leisz   Pedal Steel Guitar
George Reiff   Bass Guitar
Jim Scott   Percussion
John Ginty   Organ,Piano
Peter Harper   Vocals
Robert Marshall   Vocals
Chris Masterson   Acoustic Guitar,Percussion,Electric Guitar,Vocals,Guitar (12 String Electric),Mando-Guitar
Eleanor Whitmore   Acoustic Guitar,Violin,Electric Guitar,Vocals
Mark Stepro   Percussion,Drums
Jason Blynn   Vocals

Technical Credits

Danny Goldberg   Management
Jim Scott   Producer,Engineer
Steve Poltz   Composer
David Wykoff   Legal Counsel
Steve McEwan   Composer
Brady Brock   Publicity,Management
Chris Masterson   Composer
Eleanor Whitmore   Composer,String Arrangements
Paul Moore   Art Direction
Jesse Bauer   Management
Richard Wootton   Publicity
Bob Paterson   Booking
Kevin Dean   Engineer
Gregg Little   Booking
Jonny Burke   Composer
Aaron Lee Tasjan   Composer
Aaron Summer   Booking
Tim Plumley   Publicity

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews