Gloria: The Sacred Music of John Rutter [2005]

Gloria: The Sacred Music of John Rutter [2005]

by John Rutter


$12.34 $12.99 Save 5% Current price is $12.34, Original price is $12.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, August 27

Product Details

Release Date: 09/20/2005
Label: Collegium
UPC: 0040888051527
catalogNumber: 515
Rank: 74558


  1. Gloria for chorus & brass ensemble
  2. All Things Bright and Beautiful for chorus & orchestra
  3. Cantate Domino
  4. O Clap Your Hands for chorus & orchestra
  5. Wedding Canticle (Blessed are all they that fear the Lord), for flute, guitar & chorus
  6. The Lord Is My Shepherd for chorus & orchestra
  7. A Gaelic Blessing for chorus & orchestra
  8. Hymn to the Creator of Light, for unaccompanied double choir
  9. Arise, Shine, anthem for choir & organ
  10. Praise Ye the Lord for chorus & orchestra
  11. For the Beauty of the Earth for chorus & orchestra
  12. God Be in My Head, for chorus
  13. Open Thou Mine Eyes for chorus
  14. A Prayer of St. Patrick for chorus
  15. The Lord Bless You and Keep You, for chorus & orchestra

Album Credits

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Gloria: The Sacred Music of John Rutter 4.5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 4 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
The brass & choral sound in the 1st & 3rd movement is absolutely wonderful on this recording....both joyful & exciting. Sandwiched in between is the 2nd movement, which I've always imagined listening to on a beach at night looking up at the stars - realizing how small you are and how infinite and mysterious God is. It portrays that feeling perfectly. Rutter is a genius, in larger works like the "Gloria" & in smaller works, like the anthems represented here. Enjoy!
Guest More than 1 year ago
John Rutter is probably the greatest contemporary composer of religious chorale music. From masses to simple prayers, his music resounds with clear and bright harmony.
Guest More than 1 year ago
The Gloria is beautifully conceived, combining the great tradition of English choral music embodied by Vaughn Williams, Wilcox, Britten and Delius, with some jazz brass and percussion . The performance by the Cambridge singers is flawless as usual. This disc is also very well recorded and produced.
CaptainCaffeine More than 1 year ago
One of the most beautiful works of sacred choral music ever written, Rutter's "Gloria" takes the listener on a journey to the heavens of musical praise. From the majestic "Allegro Vivace", to the intimate "Andante" and finally to the climactic "Vivace," the listener hears new aspects to the work every time it's played. Not only is the choral arranngement magnificent, and flawlessly executed, but the brass, organ and percussion provides the perfect complement, not just an accompaniment, to the vocals. This recording is the next best thing to hearing it live. Stick it in your iPod, strap yourself in and enjoy the ride!