Four Sacred Plays

Four Sacred Plays

by Dorothy L. Sayers

NOOK Book(eBook)

View All Available Formats & Editions

Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


For the first time in one volume: The Devil to Pay was also written for the Canterbury Festival and was based on the Faust legend. The Just Vengeance was written for the Lichfield Cathedral Festival in 1946. The plot involves around an Airman who has been shot down. His spirit returns to his home in Lichfield where he is shown the meaning of Atonement, his conversion takes place and he then enters Heaven. He That Should Come is a one-act nativity play originally written for radio. Sayers' main concern was to portray the birth of Christ in a realistic social and historical background. The Zeal of Thy House was commissioned for a Canterbury Festival, the plot hinges on William of Sens, the architect chosen to rebuild Canterbury Cathedral's choir in 1174, and his crippling fall during construction.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781773234670
Publisher: Reading Essentials
Publication date: 02/08/2019
Sold by: StreetLib SRL
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 443,821
File size: 335 KB

About the Author

Although best known for the popular and witty Lord Peter Wimsey mystery series, Dorothy Leigh Sayers (1893¿1957) was also a noted poet, playwright, essayist, and translator. With sly wit, Sayers used Lord Peter Wimsey, an English aristocrat and amateur sleuth, to gently satirize the British class system. She is recognized as being one of the four "Queens of Crime" alongside Agatha Christie, Ngaio Marsh, and Margery Allingham. Some of her most popular books include Whose Body, The Nine Tailors, and The Missing Clock.

Date of Birth:

June 13, 1893

Date of Death:

December 17, 1957

Place of Birth:

Oxford, England


B.A., Oxford University, 1915; M.A., B.C.L., 1920

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews