Fly Through the Country/When the Storm Is Over

Fly Through the Country/When the Storm Is Over

by New Grass Revival


$14.54 $16.99 Save 14% Current price is $14.54, Original price is $16.99. You Save 14%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Fly Through the Country/When the Storm Is Over is a two-for-one deal, representing New Grass Revival releases from 1976 and 1977 respectively. Mandolin player Sam Bush, bassist John Cowan, guitarist Curtis Burch, and banjoist Courtney Johnson form the core of the band on these 20 selections. This material separates itself from traditional bluegrass by its easy air and romantic sensibility. One has a difficult time imagining Ralph Stanley or any traditional act choosing to sing Townes Van Zandt's "White Freightliner Blues." The disc kicks off with a nice version of John Hartford's "Skippin' in the Mississippi Dew," before letting Cowan take the lead vocal on the lovely, "Good Woman's Love." His vocals, unlike traditional bluegrass, are soulful, as though he grew up listening to rock & roll. Sam Bush also offers nice lead vocals on songs like "Glory" and "When She Made Laughter Easy." The song choice in general has more in common with '70s figures like Jackson Browne than any standard bluegrass repertoire. This gives the album a contemporary feel. The overall musicianship is also superb. Burch is the paragon of good taste whether playing guitar or dobro, while Bush, known for his mandolin chops, is equally apt at fiddle, and on one song, Jackson Browne's "These Days," he even breaks out an electric guitar! A wider variety of instruments has been thrown into the musical stew on When the Storm Is Over, including electric piano and drums. These electric moments, while clearly not traditional, never overpower the music. Both of these albums offer a great starting place to discover the earlier version of the New Grass Revival (as opposed to the later version, which included Béla Fleck and the glories of early progressive bluegrass).

Product Details

Release Date: 09/29/1992
Label: Rounder / Umgd
UPC: 0018964003227
catalogNumber: 70032
Rank: 47867

Album Credits

Performance Credits

New Grass Revival   Primary Artist
Sam Bush   Fiddle,Guitar,Mandolin,Violin,Electric Guitar,Steel Guitar,Vocals,Slide Guitar,Slide Mandolin,Electric Fiddle
Bobby Wood   Piano
Curtis Burch   Dobro,Guitar,Vocals
Charles Cochran   Piano
Chuck Cochran   Synthesizer,Piano,Electric Piano,Steel Drums
John Cowan   Bass,Vocals,Vocal Harmony
Courtney Johnson   Acoustic Guitar,Banjo,Vocals
Kenny Malone   Percussion,Conga,Drums,Guica,Guichero

Technical Credits

Sam Bush   Arranger,Producer
Jimmie Skinner   Composer
Chuck Cochran   Producer
Garth Fundis   Producer,Engineer,Remixing
Courtney Johnson   Arranger

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Fly Through the Country/When the Storm Is Over 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Guest More than 1 year ago
this good old band is great but i cant find the songs to download on the inter net any where they arnt that well known but they do great music wish i could find them