This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

FantasticLand: A Novel

FantasticLand: A Novel

by Mike Bockoven

Hardcover

$12.49 $24.99 Save 50% Current price is $12.49, Original price is $24.99. You Save 50%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, June 26

Overview

  •  Ideal for fans of Lord of the Flies and Battle Royale
  • A gripping thriller in which an amusement park becomes the scene of a real-life nightmare
  • Written as an investigation with first-person interviews 

When online personas take the place of private identities, what happens when those societal constructs disappear? The employees of FantasticLand find out after a hurricane hits the Florida coast. FantasticLand has been the theme park where “Fun Is Guaranteed!” for nearly forty years. After the hurricane, detectives and others who make it to the survivors more than a month later discover a scene out of a nightmare. Evidence of grisly murders are all over the park. Yet the only ones who could have committed these savage and horrible acts were the college-aged employees. What drove them to such violence? 

According to park policy, employees gave up their electronic devices to make FantasticLand more authentic. When the hurricane hit and they were left to their own devices, the teens split into rival tribes. To survive, they compete for social dominance, medicine, human flesh, and food. 

Fans of thrillers and murder mysteries will love FantasticLand: A Novel

Skyhorse Publishing, as well as our Arcade, Yucca, and Good Books imprints, are proud to publish a broad range of books for readers interested in fiction—novels, novellas, political and medical thrillers, comedy, satire, historical fiction, romance, erotic and love stories, mystery, classic literature, folklore and mythology, literary classics including Shakespeare, Dumas, Wilde, Cather, and much more. While not every title we publish becomes a New York Times bestseller or a national bestseller, we are committed to books on subjects that are sometimes overlooked and to authors whose work might not otherwise find a home.

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9781510709447
Publisher: Skyhorse
Publication date: 10/11/2016
Pages: 272
Sales rank: 90,915
Product dimensions: 6.30(w) x 9.00(h) x 1.20(d)

About the Author

Mike Bockoven writes thriller/horror novels while his kids are in gymnastics class or at piano lessons. He lives with his wife, Sarah, two daughters, Emaline and Tessa and an exceptionally dumb wiener dog names Sherlock. You can find him at his website, mikebockoven.com, on Facebook (facebook.com/Bockovenbooks) and on Twitter @mikebockoven. He lives in Grand Island, Nebraska.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

FantasticLand: A Novel 4.8 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 12 reviews.
Anonymous 7 months ago
Was completely enthralled with this book from the beginning!!!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very suspenful
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Read+it+twice
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Told through a series of "interviews," much like "World War Z." The format gave the opportunity to see the cause, conduct, & aftermath of the fictional situation from various character viewpoints. The depiction of how much people rely on technology, particularly social media, & how disassociated they get without that connection, really hits home. The reader is left wondering how she or he would react if put in the same situation. We all want to believe that we would rise to the occasion as a leader & hero, but when disaster strikes, most emerge as a follower, victim, straight out villain, the heroes Dee & far between. This story puts the reader in a kill it be killed scenario, & makes it relatable to how the everyday John & Jane could spiral so far beyond who they normally are--decent individuals. I highly recommend it for a classroom or a book club setting. A very intense & thought provoking read.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Perfectly constructed
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
I couldn't put this book down. It had me from the first interview. It is a must read for all you social media junkies. I am so glad i bought this book
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
perfection
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
Very suspenceful.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
But it did keep my attention. This book is basically told as a reporter's interview of survivors of a natural disaster. It is a creative avenue of book writing.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
A real page turner. I am waiting for the movie to come out!
Anonymous More than 1 year ago
224perweek More than 1 year ago
Creepy!!! Cross between Lord of the Flies and Michael Grant's Gone series.