The Fallen Kings (Morland Dynasty Series #32)

The Fallen Kings (Morland Dynasty Series #32)

by Cynthia Harrod-Eagles

Paperback(Mass Market Paperback - Reprint)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Usually ships within 1 week


1918: German troops flood back from the Eastern Front for an all-out assault in France, before the Americans can join the war. The under-strength British retreat, and for the first time the real possibility of defeat comes home to a shocked nation.

At the front, Bertie struggles to bring his battered battalion out safely, while at home Jessie, secretly carrying his child, knows that sooner or later she must face her family's censure. At Morland Place, Teddy braves local opinion to bring German POWs to work on the land, little knowing how close to home the consequences of his decision will strike. And the terrible news arrives that Jack has been shot down.

Men are falling, each one the King of someone's heart. For the Morlands, only love, faith and compassion will keep the family safe until the longed-for days of peace . . .

Product Details

ISBN-13: 9780751537710
Publisher: Little, Brown and Company
Publication date: 06/01/2011
Series: Morland Dynasty Series , #32
Edition description: Reprint
Pages: 592
Product dimensions: 4.30(w) x 6.80(h) x 1.70(d)
Age Range: 18 Years

About the Author

Cynthia Harrod-Eagles is a past winner of the Romantic Novelists Award, and also the creator of the increasingly popular series of crime novels featuring Inspector Bill Slider.

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

The Fallen Kings 4 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
birdsam0610 on LibraryThing More than 1 year ago
The Morland Dynasty series is one of the longest running series I¿ve read in my life (Sweet Valley High and The Babysitters Club don¿t count). Set in England, this series covers centuries of the one family, the Morlands of Morland Place, near York.As the series has progressed, the time period for each book as become shorter. The Fallen Kings covers 1919 only, the last year of World War I. The book covers the war from the British perspective (both the air force and the army), as well as the roles women played (FANYs, nurses and other work). It also covers the fall of the Russian tsar, Spanish`flu, votes for women and the immediate aftermath of the war.I don¿t want to give away the character developments to anyone reading the series around this time period, but as is usual with the Morlands, there is tragedy as well as some happy plot developments.If you¿re interested in English history, I highly recommend the Morland Dynasty series. Great stories tied in with real history.