Eric Benét

Eric Benét

by Eric Benét


$12.35 $13.99 Save 12% Current price is $12.35, Original price is $13.99. You Save 12%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


Eric Benét's self-titled album is his first proper studio recording issued in the U.S. since 2012, the year he released The One. Between the two dates, there was The Other One, a set of remixes from the Afropeans, as well as From E to U, Vol. 1, an all-covers set released in Japan. No derailment, this picks up where The One left off, with a mature and modern sound deeply rooted in traditional R&B. Thanks in part to long-term associate Demonté Posey, who produced and wrote almost everything, it is a little friskier and funkier. History-aware listeners should have a ball picking up on certain likenesses, like the bopping One Way-style keyboards tucked inside "Cold Trigger," a high-stepping slice of big band soul-funk. "Insane," a slow strut, makes like Mint Condition meets Prince, with an insatiable and slightly risqué Benét howling in falsetto. As fiery as that is, it's eclipsed by the mellower and cleaner "Broke, Beat & Busted," an impeccable Jonathan Richmond-produced ballad that deserves a years-long run of steady rotation on urban adult contemporary stations. This material never resembles an act of nostalgia, despite its intentional or unintentional references. It all stands on its own, casting the singer in a bright light, whether he's dealing out slow jams, sophisticated funk, or adult contemporary numbers.

Product Details

Release Date: 10/07/2016
Label: Primary Wave
UPC: 0075597941760
catalogNumber: 79417
Rank: 103775

Album Credits

Performance Credits

Eric Benét   Primary Artist
MC Lyte   Rap
Arturo Sandoval   Soloist
Donald Hayes   Horn
Nick Smith   Drums
Ethan Farmer   Bass
Oscar Seaton   Drums
Caroline Campbell   Violin
Demonté Posey   Synthesizer,Piano,Keyboards
Daniel Rodriguez   Percussion
Afton Johnson   Bass
Dammo Farmer   Bass Guitar
Cameron Johnson   Horn
Hope Shepherd   Cello
Mike Bereal   Hammond B3
Lemar Guillary   Horn
Kaye Fox   Background Vocals
Michael "Fish" Herring   Guitar
Luis Eric   Horn
Nelson Beato   Background Vocals
John McVicker   Drums
Davy Nathan   Keyboards
Jairus Mozee   Guitar
Silvia Suarez   Violin
Rita Andrade   Viola
Violetta Todorova   Violin
Dmitriy Melkumov   Violin
Matt Jones   Strings,Conductor
Christopher Ferrer   Cello
Jonas Benson   Viola
Grace Ko   Violin
Amanda Grimm   Viola
Olya Prohorova   Violin
Seo-Hee Byun   Violin
Angelica D'costa   Violin
Patti Garvey   Cello
Susan Paik   Violin
Jessica Teddington   Vocals
Kit Polen   Bass Cello

Technical Credits

Mark Robinson   Music Business Affairs
Nick Smith   Composer
Eric Benét   Composer,Producer
Demonté Posey   Composer,Producer,Engineer,drum programming,Additional Production
Afton Johnson   Composer
Chelsea Williams   Composer
Lawrence "Boo" Mitchell   Engineer
Dammo Farmer   Composer
Steven Valenzuela   Engineer
Jonathan Richmond   Composer,Producer,Instrumentation
Christian "Davis" Stalnecker   Composer
Rollin Weary   Engineer
Randall Leddy   Art Direction
Davy Nathan   Producer
Jairus Mozee   Composer
Matt Jones   String Arrangements

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews