Edna St Vincent Millay's Collection [ 6 Books ]

Edna St Vincent Millay's Collection [ 6 Books ]

by Edna St Vincent Millay

NOOK Book(eBook)


Available on Compatible NOOK Devices and the free NOOK Apps.
WANT A NOOK?  Explore Now
LEND ME® See Details


Edna St Vincent Millay's Collection [6 Books]
{22-02-1892 – 19-10-1950}

This book contains collection of best 6 Titles of Edna St Vincent Millay.

 1: Aria da Capo
 2: A Few Figs from Thistles
 3: The Harp-Weaver and Other Poems
 4: The Lamp and the Bell
 5: Renascence and other poems
 6: Second April

Edna St. Vincent Millay was an American lyrical poet, playwright and feminist. She received the Pulitzer Prize for Poetry in 1923, the third woman to win the award for poetry, and was also known for her activism and her many love affairs. She used the pseudonym Nancy Boyd for her prose work. The poet Richard Wilbur asserted, "She wrote some of the best sonnets of the century."

Millay wrote five verse dramas early in her career, including Two Slatterns and a King and The Lamp and the Bell, a poem written for Vassar College about love between women. She was commissioned by the Metropolitan Opera House to write a libretto for an opera composed by Deems Taylor. The result, The King's Henchman, drew on the Anglo-Saxon Chronicle's account of Eadgar, King of Wessex, and was described as the most effectively and artistically wrought American opera ever to reach the stage.

Product Details

BN ID: 2940015727678
Publisher: Publish This, LLC
Publication date: 11/19/2012
Sold by: Barnes & Noble
Format: NOOK Book
Sales rank: 946,637
File size: 260 KB

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews