You Cannot Start Without Me: Valery Gergiev - Maestro

You Cannot Start Without Me: Valery Gergiev - Maestro

Director: Allan Miller Cast: Valery Gergiev, Ulyana Lopatkina, Yefim Bronfman

DVD (Wide Screen / Stereo)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, August 23


As artistic director of St. Petersburg's Mariinsky Theatre, principal conductor of the London Symphony Orchestra, and guest conductor of the Metropolitan Opera, Valery Gergiev is one of the world's best -- and busiest -- conductors. This documentary from filmmaker Allan Miller follows a year in the life of the Russian conductor as he juggles his demanding schedule and shares insight into the art of conducting. ~ Sandra Bencic

Product Details

Release Date: 01/26/2010
UPC: 3760115300538
Original Release: 2009
Rating: NR
Source: Bel Air Classiques
Region Code: 0
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:27:00
Sales rank: 56,511

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Valery Gergiev Participant
Ulyana Lopatkina Participant
Yefim Bronfman Participant
Anna Netrebko Participant
Viktor Chernomortsev Participant
Alexey Tanovitsky Participant
Olga Sergeyeva Participant
Renée Fleming Participant
Dmitri Hvorostovsky Participant
Viktor Lyutsuk Participant
Vadim Kravets Participant
Andrei Popov Participant
Leonidas Kavakos Participant

Technical Credits
Allan Miller Director,Editor,Producer
Sergey Beck Production Manager
Paul Cote Sound/Sound Designer
Dave Ellinwood Sound Editor
Jean-Marc Froment Cinematographer
David Horn Executive Producer
Gergely Hornos Sound/Sound Designer
Mead Hunt Cinematographer
Nyika Jancso Cinematographer
Donald Klocek Sound Editor
Don Lenzer Cinematographer
Sonoko Aoyagi Leopold Co-producer
Roger Phenix Sound/Sound Designer
R. Douglas Sheldon Executive Producer
Margaret Smilow Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- You Cannot Start Without Me: Valery Gergiev - Maestro
1. Open [2:28]
2. Mariinsky Theatre Tradition [8:14]
3. Gergiev's Mariinsky Appointment [3:00]
4. Anna Natrebko Sings Mozart [3:07]
5. Wagner, Götterdämmerung [4:38]
6. Family [3:46]
7. First Rehearsal, Stravinsky, Rite of Spring [3:14]
8. Gergiev's Boyhood and Training [10:18]
9. Second Rehearsal, Rite of Spring [6:54]
10. The Metropolitan Opera, Eugene Onegin [7:25]
11. Moscow [2:32]
12. Touring Russia [8:06]
13. Warehouse Fire, New Concert Hall [2:52]
14. Final Rehearsal, Rite of Spring [6:51]
15. End Credits [11:10]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews