Try and Get Me

Try and Get Me

Director: Cy Raker Endfield Cast: Frank Lovejoy, Kathleen Ryan, Richard Carlson


$23.90 $24.99 Save 4% Current price is $23.9, Original price is $24.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions


The Sound of Fury is better known by its general release title, Try and Get Me. Based on Jo Pagano's novel The Condemned, the film recreates a dismal chapter in American history. In 1933, the otherwise peace-loving citizens of San Jose, CA, were stirred up by blind hatred into forming a mob and lynching two accused kidnappers (this same incident was fictionalized in the 1935 Fritz Lang film Fury). Frank Lovejoy and Lloyd Bridges play a couple of down-and-outers who kidnap a wealthy youngster in hopes of getting a huge ransom. Things go terribly wrong, and the boy is killed. When the two kidnappers are arrested, a local journalist (Richard Carlson) inflames the populace with a series of hate-filled articles about the two prisoners. The journalist then stands by in mute horror as he watches the terrible results of his irresponsible print campaign.

Product Details

Release Date: 04/19/2016
UPC: 0887090119405
Original Release: 1950
Rating: NR
Source: Olive Films
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:32:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Frank Lovejoy Howard Tyler
Kathleen Ryan Judy Tyler
Richard Carlson Gil Stanton
Lloyd Bridges Jerry Slocum
Katherine Locke Hazel
Adele Jergens Velma
Art Smith Hal Clendenning
Renzo Cesana Dr. Simone
Cliff Clark Sheriff Demig
Carl Kent Donald Miller
Jane Easton Barbara Colson
Lynn Gray Vi Clendenning
Dabbs Greer Mike
Mary Lawrence Kathy
Irene Vernon Helen Stanton
Mack Williams Prof. Martin

Technical Credits
Cy Raker Endfield Director,Screenwriter
George J. Amy Editor
Perry Ferguson Art Director
Hugo W. Friedhofer Score Composer
Jo Pagano Screenwriter
Guy Roe Cinematographer
Robert Stillman Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Try and Get Me
1. Chapter 1 [11:05]
2. Chapter 2 [9:52]
3. Chapter 3 [14:21]
4. Chapter 4 [10:50]
5. Chapter 5 [8:47]
6. Chapter 6 [12:47]
7. Chapter 7 [8:48]
8. Chapter 8 [15:18]
9. Chapter 9 [:11]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews