Three Sisters

Three Sisters

Director: Laurence Olivier, John Sichel Cast: Jeanne Watts, Joan Plowright

DVD (Wide Screen)

$28.69 $29.99 Save 4% Current price is $28.69, Original price is $29.99. You Save 4%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, September 19


Part of the American Film Theatre series, Three Sisters comes to DVD from Kino International. Originally written by Anton Chekhov, this play is adapted to film by director Laurence Olivier in 1970. This DVD is presented with a widescreen transfer enhanced for 16 x 9 televisions. Special features start off with "Anton Chekhov and Three Sisters," an essay by Michael Feingold, chief theater critic at the Village Voice. Also included are the theatrical trailer, a stills gallery, and an interview with actor Alan Bates. Most of the other special features are vintage American Film Theatre promotional materials, like an AFT cinebill, stills gallery, and scrapbook.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/22/2003
UPC: 0738329028923
Original Release: 1970
Rating: G
Source: Kino Video
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 2:42:00
Sales rank: 52,048

Special Features

An interview with Alan Bates; Theatrical trailer; "Anton Chekhov and Three Sisters," an essay by Michael Feingold, Chief Theatre Critic, The Village Voice; The AFT cinebill for Three Sisters; Stills gallery; The American Film Theatre scrapbook

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jeanne Watts Olga
Joan Plowright Masha
Louise Pumell Irina Prosorov
Derek Jacobi Andrei Prosorov
Kenneth Mackintosh Kulighin
Harry Lomax Ferrapont
Frank Wylie Solloni
Alan Bates Vershinin
Richard Kay Fedotik
David Belcher Lt. Bode
David Munro Actor
George Selway Orderly
Robert Walker Officer
Daphne Heard Anfissa
Ronald Pickup Baron Tusenbach
Sheila Reid Natasha
Leonid Gallis Kulygin
Laurence Olivier Ivan Chebutikin

Technical Credits
Laurence Olivier Director,Producer
John Sichel Director
Moura Budberg Screenwriter
Timothy Burrill Associate Producer
Alan Clore Executive Producer
Beatrice Dawson Costumes/Costume Designer
John Goldstone Producer
Jack Harris Editor
Gary Hughes Score Composer
Bill Hutchinson Art Director
James C. Katz Producer
Ely Landau Producer
Bob Lawrence Makeup
Phil Leakey Makeup
Simon Relph Associate Producer
Geoffrey Unsworth Cinematographer
William Walton Score Composer
Marc Wilkinson Musical Direction/Supervision

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. A Spring Afternoon [7:29]
2. An Extravagant Present [7:14]
3. Our Lives [7:08]
4. Superfluous Knowledge [10:32]
5. Irina's Birthday [5:45]
6. "How Deceptive Life Can Be" [8:35]
7. "I Love..." [8:19]
8. "Let's Philosophize" [8:33]
9. "Let's Make Peace" [8:00]
10. "Moscow, Moscow" [8:52]
11. A Cruel Natasha [7:24]
12. "Maybe I'm Not a Man at All" [9:46]
13. "You Are a Remarkable Woman" [7:59]
14. Confessions [7:48]
15. A Dream [4:50]
16. Happiness [4:11]
17. A Duel [8:08]
18. Wives [5:55]
19. "Everything Comes to an End" [10:12]
20. "Let Us Live" [7:45]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews