The Triumph of Sherlock Holmes

The Triumph of Sherlock Holmes

Director: Leslie Hiscott Cast: Arthur Wontner, Ian Fleming, Leslie Perrins


$8.40 $8.99 Save 7% Current price is $8.4, Original price is $8.99. You Save 7%. View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, October 28


The fourth of Arthur Wonter's quintet of Sherlock Holmes films, Triumph of Sherlock Holmes was a fairly faithful adaptation of Conan Doyle's The Valley of Fear. This time, Holmes (Wontner) and Dr. Watson (Ian Fleming -- not the James Bond author!) investigate a mysterious murder at Birlstone Castle. The killings seem to be tied in with a secret American society of coal-miners called the Scowlers. The architect of all this skullduggery is that "Napoleon of Crime," Professor Moriarty (the magnificent Lyn Harding), who has conspired with an American gangster (Ben Welden) to assassinate the Pinkerton agent responsible for breaking the back of the Scowlers. There's very little in the way of mystery in Triumph of Sherlock Holmes, but it scores on its full quotient of thrills and chills. Originally 84 minutes, the film was cut to 75 for its American release.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/09/2015
UPC: 0644827154821
Original Release: 1935
Source: Reel Vault
Sales rank: 47,889

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Arthur Wontner Sherlock Holmes
Ian Fleming Dr. John H. Watson
Leslie Perrins John Douglas
Jane Carr Ettie Douglas
Charles Mortimer Inspector Lestrade
Roy Emerton Boss McGinty
Wilfred Caithness Col. Sebastian Moran
Arthur Coullett Col. Sebastian Moran
Lyn Harding Prof. Moriarty
Minnie Rayner Mrs. Hudson
Michael Shepley Cecil Barker
Ben Welden Ted Baldwin
Conway Dixon Ames

Technical Credits
Leslie Hiscott Director
Julius Hagen Producer
William Luff Cinematographer
H. Fowler Mear Screenwriter
Cyril Twyford Screenwriter
Arthur Wontner Screenwriter

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews