The Sun

The Sun

Director: Alexander Sokurov Cast: Issey Ogata, Robert M. Dawson, Kaori Momoi

DVD (Letterbox)

$28.56 $29.99 Save 5% Current price is $28.56, Original price is $29.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Monday, September 23


The events surrounding Japanese emperor Hirohito's August 1945 call for a complete cease fire among his troops serves as the subject of Alexander Sokurov's thought-provoking historical drama. In the aftermath of Hiroshima and Nagasaki, Emperor Hirohito (Issey Ogata) announces to the world that Japan will surrender unconditionally. His declaration was broadcast over the radio on August 15, 1945, and stunned the Japanese people. In this film, Sokurov details not only the events surrounding the emperor's declaration of surrender, but his renunciation of divine status as well.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/01/2010
UPC: 0705105267715
Original Release: 2005
Source: Lorber Films (Kino)
Presentation: [Letterbox]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:50:00
Sales rank: 51,847

Special Features

Production notes by Alexander Sokurov; Theatrical trailer; Stills gallery

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Issey Ogata Emperor
Robert M. Dawson General MacArthur
Kaori Momoi Empress
Shiro Sano Chamberlain
Shinmei Tsuji Old Servant
Taijiro Tamura Director of the Institute
Georgiy Pitskhelauri Adjutant of General

Technical Credits
Alexander Sokurov Director,Cinematographer
Yuri Arabov Screenwriter
Antoine de Clermont-Tonnerre Co-producer
Sergei Ivanov Editor
Igor Kalenov Producer
Lidia Krukova Costumes/Costume Designer
Yury Kuper Production Designer
Sergei Moshkov Sound/Sound Designer
Marco Mueller Producer
Marco Müller Producer
Alexander Rodnyansky Co-producer
Andrei Sigle Score Composer,Producer
Andrei Zertsalov Co-producer
Yelena Zhukova Art Director

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Sun
1. Schedule for the Day [14:04]
2. Cabinet of Ministers [8:12]
3. Marine Biology [9:00]
4. Nightmare [5:28]
5. Sakura Blossoms [10:21]
6. The Americans [7:24]
7. General MacArthur [9:03]
8. Chocolate [11:35]
9. Photo Op [4:26]
10. Havana Cigars [13:35]
11. Divinity [5:58]
12. The Empress [11:01]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews