The Horror Show

The Horror Show

Director: James Isaac Cast: Lance Henriksen, Brion James, Rita Taggart

Blu-ray (Wide Screen / Subtitled)

$14.22 $16.99 Save 16% Current price is $14.22, Original price is $16.99. You Save 16%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


This muddled attempt at creating a new supernatural serial killer franchise (in the mode of Freddy Krueger in the Nightmare on Elm Street series) features perennial movie thug Brion James as sadistic mass murderer Max Jenke, who hacked up more than 100 victims with a meat cleaver before his eventual capture by dedicated cop Lucas McCarthy (Lance Henriksen). Unwilling to cease his homicidal spree after his death, Jenke had been conducting bizarre experiments in soul-transference prior to his capture; his execution in the electric chair subsequently transforms his evil essence into electrical current. In this new form, the seemingly unstoppable maniac launches a supernatural siege against McCarthy and his family until the tormented cop finally faces him down on his own nightmare turf. Originally conceived as another House sequel, this film consists of long periods of tedium punctuated by outbursts of graphic gore and surreal effects. This condition is partially the result of footage being shot by two separate directors; it seems as if neither of them knew what the other was doing. James is amusingly sleazy as the cackling madman, but his one-note material is not compelling enough to merit a recurring character.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/26/2013
UPC: 0826663144420
Original Release: 1989
Rating: R
Source: Shout Factory
Region Code: 1A
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:35:00
Sales rank: 20,265

Special Features

Interviews with Rita Taggart and Kane Hodder; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Lance Henriksen Lucas McCarthy
Brion James Max Jenke
Rita Taggart Donna McCarthy
DeDee Pfeiffer Bonnie McCarthy
Aaron Eisenberg Scott McCarthy
Thom Bray Peter Campbell
Matt Clark Dr. Tower
David Oliver Vinnie
Lewis Arquette Lieutenant Miller
Lawrence Tierney Actor
Alvy Moore Actor
Melissa Skoff Actor
Terry Alexander Casey

Technical Credits
James Isaac Director
John K. Adams Special Effects Supervisor
Mac Ahlberg Cinematographer
Edward Anton Editor
David P. Barton Special Effects
Cynthia Bergstrom Costumes/Costume Designer
Leslie Bohem Screenwriter
Stewart Campbell Consultant/advisor
Sean S. Cunningham Producer
Mecki Heussen Special Effects
Peter Kuran Special Effects
Mike Lessa Animator
Michelle Linenberger Stunts
Harry Manfredini Score Composer
Alan Marcus Stunts
John Nowak Stunts
Chris O'Flaherty Special Effects
Sean Rodgers Special Effects
Hans Roland Sound Mixer
Paul Short Stunts
Melissa Skoff Casting
Alan Smithee Screenwriter
Patrick Statham Stunts
Kelly Van Horn Asst. Director
John T. Van Vliet Animator
Allyn Warner Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Horror Show
1. Chapter 1 [2:43]
2. Chapter 2 [11:13]
3. Chapter 3 [8:38]
4. Chapter 4 [8:19]
5. Chapter 5 [9:43]
6. Chapter 6 [11:09]
7. Chapter 7 [7:56]
8. Chapter 8 [5:15]
9. Chapter 9 [7:25]
10. Chapter 10 [6:52]
11. Chapter 11 [11:40]
12. Chapter 12 [3:18]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews