The Feminine Touch

The Feminine Touch

Director: W.S. Van Dyke Cast: Rosalind Russell, Don Ameche, Kay Francis

DVD (Black & White)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 18


An expert cast of farceurs goes through its customary paces in MGM's The Feminine Touch. Don Ameche plays college professor-turned-author John Hathaway, who hits upon a potential best-seller with his book on marital jealousy. He heads to New York with his lovely wife Julie (Rosalind Russell), there to commisserate with publisher Elliot Morgan (Van Heflin), whose job it is to "popularize" Hathaway's scholarly tome. Instead, Morgan falls head over heels in love with Julie, forcing John to consult his own book as a balm to his own jealousy. Meanwhile, Morgan's sweetheart Nellie Woods (Kay Francis) tries to take drastic measures to win back her beau, leading Julie to conclude that Nellie is making a play for John! And that's the name of the tune for the remainder of the film's 97 minute.

Product Details

Release Date: 08/25/2015
UPC: 0888574294274
Original Release: 1941
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono, Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:37:00
Sales rank: 34,963

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Rosalind Russell Julie Hathaway
Don Ameche John Hathaway
Kay Francis Nellie Woods
Van Heflin Elliott Morgan
Donald Meek Capt. Makepeace Liveright
Gordon Jones Rubber-Legs Ryan
Robert Ryan Actor
Henry Daniell Shelley Mason
Sidney Blackmer Freddie Bond
Grant Mitchell Dean Hutchinson
David Clyde Brighton

Technical Credits
W.S. Van Dyke Director
Adrian Costumes/Costume Designer
Albert Akst Editor
Cedric Gibbons Art Director
Paul Groesse Art Director
Edmund L. Hartmann Screenwriter
Ray June Cinematographer
Joseph L. Mankiewicz Producer
Ogden Nash Screenwriter
Warren Newcombe Special Effects
George Oppenheimer Screenwriter
Franz Waxman Score Composer
Edwin B. Willis Set Decoration/Design

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- The Feminine Touch
1. Chapter 1 [6:52]
2. Chapter 2 [9:15]
3. Chapter 3 [9:01]
4. Chapter 4 [8:29]
5. Chapter 5 [5:38]
6. Chapter 6 [9:52]
7. Chapter 7 [7:47]
8. Chapter 8 [7:17]
9. Chapter 9 [10:41]
10. Chapter 10 [5:55]
11. Chapter 11 [5:37]
12. Chapter 12 [8:40]
13. Chapter 13 [2:17]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews