Super Sleuth

Super Sleuth

Director: Benjamin Stoloff Cast: Jack Oakie, Ann Sothern, Eduardo Ciannelli

DVD (Full Frame)

Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Super Sleuth stars Jack Oakie as an egotistical movie actor who specializes in detective roles. Despite the gentle remonstrations of his girl friend (Ann Sothern), Oakie fancies himself a genuine master sleuth, and in this capacity offers his services to the law in helping to solve a recent series of "poison pen" murders. In truth, Oakie is so dense that he can't figure out that the seemingly benign criminologist (Eduardo Cianelli), who supplies him technical information on his film roles, is the actual murderer. Edgar Kennedy, the real detective on the case, solves the mystery himself, but not before Oakie is nearly bumped off in the criminologist's "chamber of horrors." Super Sleuth was ineptly remade in 1946 as Genius at Work, a vehicle for RKO's prefabricated comedy team of Wally Brown and Alan Carney.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/19/2019
UPC: 0883929675500
Original Release: 1937
Rating: NR
Source: Warner Archives
Presentation: [Full Frame]
Time: 1:10:00
Sales rank: 31,747

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Jack Oakie Willard "Bill" Martin
Ann Sothern Mary Strand
Eduardo Ciannelli Prof. Horman
Alan Bruce Larry Frank
Edgar Kennedy Lt. Garrison
Joan Woodbury Doris Dunne
Bradley Page Ralph Waring
Paul Guilfoyle Gibbons
Willie Best Warts
William Corson Beckett
Alec Craig Eddie
Richard Lane Barker
George Rosener Policeman
Fred Kelsey Jailer
Robert E. O'Connor Casey
Philip Morris Sullivan
Dick Rush Grimes
Paul Hurst Motorcycle Cop
Dewey Robinson Film Gangster

Technical Credits
Benjamin Stoloff Director
Joseph H. August Cinematographer
Russell A. Cully Special Effects
Willaim Hamilton Editor
Ernest Pagano Screenwriter
Van Nest Polglase Art Director
Gertrude Purcell Screenwriter
Edward Small Producer
Vernon Walker Special Effects

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Super Sleuth
255. Chapters
1. Chapter 1 [8:01]
2. Chapter 2 [8:08]
3. Chapter 3 [8:03]
4. Chapter 4 [8:16]
5. Chapter 5 [8:22]
6. Chapter 6 [8:15]
7. Chapter 7 [7:48]
8. Chapter 8 [5:35]
9. Chapter 9 [6:44]
10. Chapter 10 [:47]
11. Chapter 11 [:01]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews