Stranger on Horseback

Stranger on Horseback

Director: Jacques Tourneur Cast: Joel McCrea, Kevin McCarthy, John McIntire

DVD (Remastered / Restored)

$19.12 $19.99 Save 4% Current price is $19.12, Original price is $19.99. You Save 4%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Thursday, October 24


Adapted from a novel by Louis L'Amour, Stranger on Horseback is one of Joel McCrea's shorter western vehicles, zipping merrily along at a mere 66 minutes. McCrea plays a travelling judge who makes it his mission in life to clean up the town of Bannerman. This proves difficult, in that the town is virtually owned by the Bannerman family. But when the family's youngest son (Kevin McCarthy) commits murder, McCrea vows to bring the boy to justice -- and to see that he gets a fair trial, despite pressure from the Bannermans' enemies. Czech-Mexican actress Miroslava makes one of her rare American film appearances as McCrea's love interest; shortly after Stranger on Horseback was released, Miroslava committed suicide, allegedly as a result of an unhappy romance with bullfighter Luis Miguel Dominguin.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/16/2008
UPC: 0089859057823
Original Release: 1955
Rating: NR
Source: Kit Parker Films
Region Code: 0
Time: 1:06:00
Sales rank: 19,305

Special Features

Radio Show: Tales of Texas Rangers Starring Joel McCrea; ; Joel McCrea audio biography on Horseback: an audio biography by Joel Blumberg; ; Original Theatrical Trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Joel McCrea Rick Thorne
Kevin McCarthy Tom Bannerman
John McIntire Josiah Bannerman
Nancy Gates Caroline Webb
John Carradine Lawyer
Emile G. Meyer Sheriff Nat Bell
Robert Cornthwaite Arnold Hammer
Walter S. Baldwin Vince Webb
Jaclynne Greene Paula Morison
James Bell Vince Webb
Miroslava Amy
Herb Meadow Actor

Technical Credits
Jacques Tourneur Director
Ansco Color Original Story
Paul Dunlap Score Composer
Robert Goldstein Producer
Don Martin Screenwriter
Herb Meadow Screenwriter
William B. Murphy Editor
Ray Rennahan Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Stranger on Horseback
1. Intro [6:01]
2. Bannerman Town [6:12]
3. Tiger Stew [3:13]
4. Arrest [5:33]
5. Passive Resistance [5:08]
6. The Widow [4:30]
7. The Gunsmith [4:01]
8. Chance Encounter [6:27]
9. Determined Men [5:51]
10. Jail Bust [6:07]
11. Cottonwood Trail [5:11]
12. Showdown [7:28]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews