View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


Based on a novel by William H. Armstrong, the made-for-TV Sounder was a remake of director Gordon Parks' 1972 theatrical feature of the same name. This is the story of 11-year-old black youngster David Daniel Lee Robertson III, known throughout the film as "Boy." When his sharecropper father is arrested and sentenced to five years at hard labor after stealing food to feed his family, Boy embarks upon a journey to find out where his father has being imprisoned. Accompanied by his dog Sounder, Boy also makes the arduous crossover from boyhood to manhood with the help (and sometimes hindrance) of various people along the road. Kevin Hooks, who played Boy in the original film, directed the remake, while Paul Winfield, the original Father, is here cast as Teacher. Sounder first aired January 19, 2003, as a component of the ABC anthology The Wonderful World of Disney.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/24/2003
UPC: 0786936221749
Original Release: 2003
Rating: PG
Source: Walt Disney Video
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:27:00
Sales rank: 27,059

Special Features

Closed Caption; [None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Carl Lumbly Father
Suzanne Douglas Mother
Daniel Lee Robertson Boy (David)
Paul Winfield Teacher
Marcus Johnson Brother
Ashley Archer Sister
Joshua Watkis Boy (age 7)
Lili Francks Sara
Bruce McFee Crew Boss
Eugene Clark Preacher #1
Conrad Coates Preacher #2
Neil Girvan Guard #1
Patrick Stevenson Guard #2

Technical Credits
Kevin Hooks Director,Producer
Howard Braunstein Executive Producer
Bill Cain Screenwriter,Teleplay
Rodney Charters Cinematographer
Tamara Deverell Production Designer
Clara George Producer
Lee Holdridge Score Composer
Michael Jaffe Executive Producer
Richard Nord Editor

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening Titles [8:03]
2. The World's a Book [6:38]
3. "A Good Dinner" [6:59]
4. Looking for Sounder [7:34]
5. "Just a Cake, Sir" [6:50]
6. Visiting Pa in Jail [7:06]
7. A Long Journey [9:24]
8. I'm Looking for My Faith [7:10]
9. A Good Friend [9:06]
10. Pa's Back [9:48]
11. Everything Don't Change Much [7:43]
12. End Credits [:51]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Sounder 1 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago