Shotgun Stories

Shotgun Stories

Director: Jeff Nichols Cast: Michael Shannon, Douglas Ligon, Barlow Jacobs

DVD (Wide Screen)


Two families linked by the same father explode into a violent rivalry in this independent Southern gothic drama, the first feature from director Jeff Nichols. Cleaman Hayes lived and died in Little Rock, AR, where he had seven sons by two different women. After wedding Nicole (Natalie Canerday), Cleaman sired three sons, and his lack of concern for their future was reflected in the fact he barely gave them names -- they were dubbed Son (Michael Shannon), Kid (Barlow Jacobs) and Boy (Douglas Ligon). One day, Cleaman abandoned his wife and sons, and left them to survive in deep poverty that has trapped them to this day. Eventually Cleaman cleaned up his act, launched a successful business, married again, and raised four more sons -- Cleaman Jr. (Michael Abbott, Jr.), Mark (Travis Smith), Stephen (Lynsee Provence) and John (David Rhodes), all of whom were given the love and attention Cleaman denied his first three children. When Cleaman dies, all seven sons attend the funeral, and Son, overcome by bitterness, spits on his father's coffin and tells everyone how much he hated the man. Short tempered Mark answers Son with his fists, and a free-for-all breaks out between the two Hayes families. The anger and rivalry doesn't end at the end of the day, and soon a war has broken out between the clans, with no small amount of blood shed on either side. Shotgun Stories received its North American premiere at the 2007 Tribeca Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 07/01/2008
UPC: 0858423001391
Original Release: 2007
Rating: PG-13
Source: Liberation Ent
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:31:00

Special Features

Audio commentary with Director Jeff Nichols; Isolated Score composed and performed by the band Lucero; Production Stills; Trailers

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Michael Shannon Son Hayes
Douglas Ligon Boy Hayes
Barlow Jacobs Kid Hayes
Michael Abbott Cleaman Hayes
Travis Smith Mark Hayes
Lynsee Provence Stephen Hayes
David Rhodes John Hayes
Glenda Pannell Annie Hayes
G. Alan Wilkins Shampoo Douglas
Natalie Canerday Nicole Hayes
Coley Canpany Cheryl
Cole Hendrixson Carter Hayes

Technical Credits
Jeff Nichols Director,Producer,Screenwriter
Steven Gonzales Editor
David Gordon Green Producer
Tisha Gribble Associate Producer
Hayden Jackson Sound/Sound Designer
Lucero Score Composer
Lindsay Millar Production Designer
Lisa Muskat Producer
Ben Nichols Score Composer
Cosmo Pfeil Asst. Director
John Portnoy Executive Producer
Paul Skidmore Associate Producer
Adam Stone Cinematographer
Nick Thurlow Executive Producer
Todd Williams Executive Producer
Rachel Worthen Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Shotgun Stories
1. Annie Is Gone [3:54]
2. Fixing Radio [3:42]
3. Shampoo [4:32]
4. The Funeral [3:29]
5. Different Man [3:28]
6. Annie's Skillet [5:47]
7. I Love You [2:41]
8. Fishing [4:39]
9. Confrontation [3:43]
10. See You Soon [5:56]
11. Catch a Snake [4:46]
12. Lifetime Is Long [5:26]
13. Price of Revenge [2:30]
14. Need Time Off? [7:09]
15. Nothing [2:44]
16. No More [6:18]
17. Retribution [11:38]
18. Peace [7:42]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews