Rogues of Sherwood Forest

Rogues of Sherwood Forest

Director: Gordon M. Douglas Cast: John Derek, Diana Lynn, George Macready



Decked out with leftover sets and stock footage from 1946's Bandit of Sherwood Forest, Columbia's Rogues of Sherwood Forest stars John Derek as the son of legendary do-gooder Robin Hood. When King John (George Macready) revives his old cycle of taxation and repression, Robin Jr. summons forth his father's Merry Men and inaugurates a rebel movement. Aiding the younger Robin in his fight for rights is Lady Marianne (Diana Lynn), who exhibits a lot more leg and decolletage than was customary in 13th-century England. Prominent among the Merry Men is Little John, played by Alan Hale Sr., who'd previously essayed the same role in the 1922 and 1938 filmizations of Robin Hood. Attractively lensed in Technicolor, Rogues of Sherwood Forest seems far more expensive and ambitious than it really was.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/11/2010
UPC: 0043396349711
Original Release: 1950
Rating: NR
Source: Sony Pictures
Region Code: 1
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo, Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:16:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
John Derek Robin Earl of Huntington
Diana Lynn Lady Marianne
George Macready King John
Paul Cavanagh Sir Giles
Alan Hale Little John
Lowell Gilmore Count of Flanders
Billy House Friar Tuck
Lester Matthews Alan-A-Dale
Wilton Graff Baron Fitzwalter
Don Randolph Archbishop Stephen Langton
John Dehner Sir Baldric
Gavin Muir Baron Alfred
Tim Huntley Baron Chandos
Paul Collins Arthur
Billy Bevan Will Scarlett
Colin Keith-Johnston Munster
Patrick Aherne Trooper
Matthew Boulton Abbot
Paul Bradley Court official
Campbell Copelin Officer
Olaf Hytten Charcoal burner
Nelson Leigh Merton
James Logan Officer
Valentine Perkins Milk maid
Byron Poindexter Man
Symona Boniface Charcoal Burner's Wife

Technical Credits
Gordon M. Douglas Director
Ralph Gilbert Bettinson Original Story
George Bruce Screenwriter
Gene Havlick Editor
Charles Lawton Cinematographer
Harold H. MacArthur Art Director
Arthur Morton Score Composer
Fred M. Packard Producer
Heinz Roemheld Score Composer
Morris W. Stoloff Musical Direction/Supervision

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Rogues of Sherwood Forest
1. Scene 1 [8:50]
2. Scene 2 [5:36]
3. Scene 3 [6:35]
4. Scene 4 [6:28]
5. Scene 5 [7:29]
6. Scene 6 [6:44]
7. Scene 7 [6:17]
8. Scene 8 [6:57]
9. Scene 9 [8:44]
10. Scene 10 [6:31]
11. Scene 11 [6:21]
12. Scene 12 [3:19]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews