Phantom Punch

Phantom Punch


View All Available Formats & Editions


Cinematic heavyweight Ving Rhames steps into the boxing ring as controversial pugilist Sonny Liston in this sports biopic that begins as Liston realizes his talent for boxing as an inmate at a Missouri State Penitentiary, and follows his career to the moment it was effectively ended due to a devastating blow by powerful opponent Cassius Clay. Born into poverty, Liston was imprisoned as a teen for taking part in a gas station robbery, his skill for boxing uncovered by a Roman Catholic priest and helping the emerging athlete to secure an early release. Recurring bouts with racism, the mob, and the law ensured that Liston was never able to rest easy during his rise to become World Heavyweight Boxing Champion, with the notorious "phantom punch" delivered by Clay offering a painful capper to a turbulent career. Nicholas Turtutto, Bridgette Wilson-Sampras, and David Proval co-star.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/23/2010
UPC: 0852459002681
Original Release: 2008
Rating: R
Source: Screen Media
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:44:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Ving Rhames Sonny Liston
Nicholas Turturro Caesar Novak
Bridgette Wilson-Sampras Farah
David Proval Savino Gabbriello
Stacey Dash Geraldine Liston
Troy Amos-Ross Floyd Patterson

Technical Credits
Robert Townsend Director,Executive Producer
Ryan Combs Screenwriter
Simon Dekaric Executive Producer
Michael Doherty Editor
John Dyer Cinematographer
Stephanie Goran Casting
Juli-Ann Kay Casting
Byron A. Martin Executive Producer
Pazz Neglia Executive Producer
Marek Posival Producer
Ving Rhames Producer
Bob Sher Production Designer
Joanna Syrokomla Costumes/Costume Designer
Stephen James Taylor Score Composer
Wayne Thompson Executive Producer
Hassain Zaidi Executive Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Phantom Punch
1. Violent Begining [10:58]
2. "Bets a Bet!" [5:46]
3. Don't Beat Yourself [6:46]
4. Negotiations [9:05]
5. A Gentleman [8:45]
6. Another Move [9:10]
7. Re-Match [7:34]
8. Champ Falls [9:45]
9. The "Punch" [13:01]
10. Betrayal [9:02]
11. Credits [11:04]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews