Origin Of the Species

Origin Of the Species

Director: Andres Heinz Cast: Michael Kelly, Amanda Peet, Elon Gold


$9.51 $9.99 Save 5% Current price is $9.51, Original price is $9.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, September 24


Six friends in their mid- to late twenties are forced to deal with the sticky business of adulthood in this independent comedy drama. For close to ten years, Paul (Elon Gold) has organized a weekend getaway for his college friends every summer at his folks' cottage in upstate New York. This year, the number of attendees has dwindled to six, which disappoints Paul, as he prefers to look back on his past rather than deal with his present. Paul and his wife, Julia (Amanda Peet), have been trying to have a child, but she has been mixed feelings about the notion of parenthood, which are aggravated when she learns she is indeed pregnant. Stan (Jonathan LaPaglia) is still reeling from a recent bout with testicular cancer, as well as a bad breakup with his girlfriend Kate (Sybil Temchen). As it happens, Kate's pal Laura (Jean Louisa Kelly) is attracted to Stan, but between his weakened physical state and his mixed feelings about his breakup, he's not sure if he should proceed. And ladies' man Fisher (Michael Kelly), disappointed by the dearth of single woman, decides to act on his feelings for Julia; while Julia is flattered, she's not sure if Fisher is worth throwing away her marriage. Origin of the Species was the first feature film from director Andres Heinz, and was adapted from the play of the same name by Robert Weston Ackerman.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/29/2005
UPC: 0723952077080
Original Release: 1998
Rating: NR
Source: Monarch Video
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 78,897

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Open [4:52]
2. I Can Handle This [5:09]
3. Oh Did You? [6:49]
4. I Wanted to Thank You [3:14]
5. Stop Staring [5:23]
6. It Beats Working [4:01]
7. Is It in the Script [5:12]
8. Peticote Junction [4:15]
9. What's the Matter? [5:47]
10. Do Something [5:41]
11. I'm Sorry [4:09]
12. I'm Okay With It [5:55]
13. What's the Matter With You? [2:46]
14. You're Ready [9:34]
15. Come on Down [4:38]
16. Normal Healthy Behavior [8:46]
17. I Just Want to be Julie [4:33]
18. Credits [3:05]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews