Momma's Man

Momma's Man

Director: Azazel Jacobs Cast: Matt Boren, Ken Jacobs, Flo Jacobs

DVD (Wide Screen)


A grown man locked into an extended state of arrested adolescence returns to the nest while concocting a series of excuses as to why he cannot return to his wife and child in this existential comedy drama from filmmaker Azazel Jacobs. Mikey was preparing to board an airplane bound for California when he suddenly found himself fleeing from the airport and returning to the comfort of his parents' New York home. Even Mikey isn't sure exactly why he made the snap decision not to go home, all he knows is that he can't quite muster the courage to go back and assume the responsibilities of your typical family man. Of course, Mikey's doting mother is more than happy to enable her son's indecision -- and his father remains as emotionally distanced as ever -- but as time goes on, the grown-up man-child finds it increasingly difficult to make the choice between going back to reality, or drifting ever further into his second adolescence.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/05/2009
UPC: 0738329063924
Original Release: 2008
Source: Kino Video
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:38:00

Special Features

"Momma's Family," a featurette on the clash of realities that takes place in Momma's Man. Azazel Jacobs returns to the set of the film and can't leave (2009, 42 min. directed by Azazel Jacobs); "Capitalism: Child Labor," a short film by Ken Jacobs (2006, 14 min., b/w, music by Rick Reed); "Rain Building Music," Azazel Jacobs' first film (1991, 7 min.); Audio conversation featuring Azazel Jacobs and his parents; 6 deleted scenes

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Matt Boren Mikey
Ken Jacobs Dad
Flo Jacobs Mom
Dana Varon Laura
Richard Edson Tom
Nan Arcilesi Maggie
Eleanor Hutchins Brigitte
Piero Arcilesi Dante
Gabriel Welch Baby Ana
Jacques Wakefield Cable Guy
Cole Mohr Teen Boy 1
Chris Gayla Teen Boy 2
Charlotte Greville Teen Girl 1
Annick Mayer Teen Girl 2
Juliet Lyons Gray Baby Julie

Technical Credits
Azazel Jacobs Director,Screenwriter
Tara Anderson Asst. Director
Lee Ascher Sound Mixer
Tyler Brodie Executive Producer
Tobias Datum Cinematographer
Mike Gassert Sound Mixer
Hunter Gray Producer
Mandy Hoffman Score Composer
Paul S. Mezey Executive Producer
Darrin Navarro Editor
Alex Orlovsky Producer
Joe Rudge Musical Direction/Supervision
David Saltzman Production Manager

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Momma's Man
1. Opening Titles [:06]
2. Home Again [2:20]
3. Comforts [3:22]
4. Reassurance [4:45]
5. Mementos [3:04]
6. Denial [6:28]
7. Venturing Out [5:09]
8. Fitting In [5:26]
9. Baby Robot [7:21]
10. Cable Guy [4:46]
11. A Sight Intervention [4:53]
12. Laura [7:04]
13. Expressionists [3:26]
14. Baby Steps [3:24]
15. Fatherly Advice [7:45]
16. Bridget [6:36]
17. Dante Sings [4:03]
18. Loved as a Child [3:47]
19. Metamorphisis [4:10]
20. On His Way [5:37]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews