This item is not eligible for coupon offers.

Local Hero

Local Hero

Director: Bill Forsyth Cast: Peter Riegert, Burt Lancaster, Fulton Mackay

Blu-ray (Special Edition / Wide Screen)

$29.39 $39.99 Save 27% Current price is $29.39, Original price is $39.99. You Save 27%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Available for Pre-Order. This item will be available on September 24, 2019


Bill Forsyth's whimsical tale of sweet-natured corporate rapacity features standout performances by Burt Lancaster and Peter Riegert. Lancaster plays Texas billionaire Felix Happer, who would rather gaze at the stars than worry about his multi-national oil company. Happer dispatches Mac MacIntyre (Peter Riegert) and Danny Oldsen (Peter Capaldi) to the small Scottish fishing village of Ferness to negotiate buying the entire town so Happer can drill for oil in the North Sea. Much to Mac's surprise, the entire town is happy to sell itself for big money, and the local innkeeper, Gordon Urquhart (Denis Lawson) -- who is also the town's accountant and mayor -- works with Mac on the negotiations. But a wrinkle appears in the deal when Ben Knox (Fulton Mackay), an old man who lives in a shack on the beach which has been owned by his family for centuries, refuses to sell. His reasons? "Who'd look after the beach then? It would go to pieces in a short manner of time." The deal stalls so seriously that Happer travels to Ferness to oversee negotiations as Mac and Danny are seduced by the charm of the Scottish town.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/24/2019
UPC: 0715515234610
Original Release: 1983
Rating: PG
Source: Criterion
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Time: 1:51:00
Sales rank: 2,512

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Peter Riegert Maclntyre
Burt Lancaster Felix Happer
Fulton Mackay Ben
Denis Lawson Gordon Urquhart
Norman Chancer Moritz
Peter Capaldi Danny Oldsen
Jenny Seagrove Marina
Alex Norton Watt
Rikki Fulton Geddes
Jennifer Black Stella
Christopher Rozycki Victor
Christopher Asante Rev. Macpherson
Dave Anderson Fraser
Caroline Guthrie Pauline
Kenny Ireland Skipper
Ray Jeffries Andrew
Harlan Jordan Fountain
James Kennedy Edward
Buddy Quaid Crabbe
John Gordon Sinclair Ricky
Sandra Voe Mrs. Fraser
Jimmy Yuill Iain
Charles Kearney Peter
David Mowat Gideon
Ian Stewart Bulloch
Willie Joss Sandy
John M. Jackson Cal
Tam Dean Burn Roddy

Technical Credits
Bill Forsyth Director,Screenwriter
Adrienne Atkinson Art Director,Production Designer
Jonathan Benson Asst. Director
Michael Bradsell Editor
Richard James Art Director,Production Designer
Mark Knopfler Score Composer
Louis Kramer Sound/Sound Designer
Chris Menges Cinematographer
Roger Murray-Leach Production Designer
David Puttnam Producer
Iain Smith Associate Producer
Wally Veevers Special Effects
Frank Walsh Art Director,Production Designer