Keeping Score: Charles Ives's Holiday Symphony

Keeping Score: Charles Ives's Holiday Symphony

DVD (Wide Screen)

View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


As hosted and narrated by classical music scholar Michael Tilson Thomas, this program travels inside the life and work of early 20th Century American Modernist composer Charles Ives (1874-1954). Thomas unveils a grand paradox at the core of Ives's life: the fact that, although he nominally celebrated the idea of "surviving the assault of one's own success" and "going it alone," these were principles that Ives never really lived out: he made a steady living from insurance and never relied exclusively or even predominantly on his musical income. The program then uses Ives's "Holidays Symphony" (performed here by the San Francisco Symphony Orchestra) as the basis for a musical journey across New England in spring, summer, fall and winter.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/10/2009
UPC: 0821936002490
Original Release: 2009
Source: Sfs Media
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby AC-3 Surround Sound]
Time: 1:51:00
Sales rank: 65,917

Special Features

Full-length concert performance of Ives's Holidays Symphony by the San Francisco Symphony; Documentary

Cast & Crew

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews

Keeping Score: Charles Ives's Holiday Symphony 5 out of 5 based on 0 ratings. 1 reviews.
Anonymous More than 1 year ago