Islands in the Stream

Islands in the Stream

Director: Franklin J. Schaffner Cast: George C. Scott, David Hemmings, Gilbert Roland


View All Available Formats & Editions


After a parade of top-heavy blockbusters (Papillon, Nicholas and Alexandra), director Franklin J. Schaffner retreats, like the Hemingway character of the film, to peaceful tropical serenity in Islands in the Stream (based on Ernest Hemingway's posthumously published novel). George C. Scott plays the rich, but world-weary writer Thomas Hudson, living on Bimini in the Bahamas, where he carouses, drinks, and fishes to his heart's content. Invading Hudson's paradise is a parade of the sons of his ex-wives. His oldest son Tom (Hart Bochner) succeeds in getting closer to his father, but the bonding comes to a halt as ripples from the encroaching conflagration of World War II intrude upon Hudson's retreat. Tom leaves the island to fight for the RAF. Then, one day, Hudson receives a visit from his ex-wife Audrey (Claire Bloom), who tells him that Tom has died in the war. Rejecting his insulated existence, Hudson decides to make a stand by agreeing to smuggle a group of Jewish refugees onto the island.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/29/2005
UPC: 0097360878240
Original Release: 1977
Rating: PG
Source: Paramount
Region Code: 1
Time: 1:44:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Widescreen version; Enhanced for 16:9 TVs; Dolby Digital - English mono; French mono; English subtitles

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
George C. Scott Thomas Hudson
David Hemmings Eddy
Gilbert Roland Capt. Ralph
Susan Tyrrell Lil
Richard Evans Willy
Claire Bloom Audrey
Julius Harris Joseph
Hart Bochner Tom
Brad Savage Andrew
Michael-James Wixted David
Hildy Brooks Helga Ziegner,Refugee
Jessica Rains Andrea
Walter Friedel Herr Ziegner
Charles Lampkin Constable

Technical Credits
Franklin J. Schaffner Director
Del Acevedo Makeup
Peter Bart Producer
Raphael Bretton Set Decoration/Design
William J. Creber Production Designer
Jerry Goldsmith Score Composer
Darin Knight Sound/Sound Designer
Fred Koenekamp Cinematographer
Kurt Neumann Asst. Director
Max Palevsky Producer
Denne Bart Petitclerc Screenwriter
Tony Scarano Costumes/Costume Designer
Richard Sharp Makeup
Robert Swink Editor
Ken Wales Producer
Alex C. Weldon Special Effects
John K. Wilkinson Sound/Sound Designer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. The Island [3:07]
2. A Toast to the Queen [3:25]
3. The Boys Arrive [3:13]
4. Not the Way a Rummy Shoots [1:48]
5. Is Ten Too Old? [6:27]
6. Marlin Fight [:13]
7. Farewells Lead to Change [7:40]
8. A Letter to Three Sons [2:13]
9. Mistakes and Losses [4:58]
10. Poor Rummy [:11]
11. Refugees [8:10]
12. Freedom for Eddy [4:38]
13. It Is All True [:50]
14. End Credits [4:40]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews