Told in flashback, the film relates Francis of Assisi's evolution from rich man's son to religious humanitarian and eventually to full-fledged saint. Francesco was based on Hermann Hesse's Francis of Assisi, which director Liliana Cavani had previously filmed in 1966. The Saint and founder of the Franciscan Order of Friars Minor is played by Mickey Rourke, and his inspiration, the woman who later became Saint Clare, is played by Helena Bonham Carter. Raised as the pampered son of a merchant, Francis goes off to war only to return with a profound horror for the society which generated such suffering. In one scene, as an act of renunciation, he strips himself of his fine clothing in front of his father and leaves the house naked and barefoot, joining the lepers and beggars in the poor section of town. The film follows with a series of episodes from the saint's life rather than a coherent narrative, following up until his final days when he receives the stigmata, or wounds similar to those on the body of Jesus at the crucifixion.

Product Details

Release Date: 03/01/2005
UPC: 0625282800690
Original Release: 1989
Rating: PG-13
Source: Legacy Entertainment
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:55:00

Special Features

Interactive menu and scene index

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Mickey Rourke Francesco
Helena Bonham Carter Chiara
Paolo Bonacelli Father
Andréa Ferréol Mother
Hanns Zischler Pope Innocence III
Peter Berling Bishop
Mario Adorf Actor
Fabio Bussotti Actor
Nikolaus Dutsch Actor
Riccardo de Torrebruna Actor

Technical Credits
Liliana Cavani Director,Original Story,Screenwriter
Roberta Cadringher Producer
Gabriella Cristiani Editor
Danilo Donati Production Designer,Set Decoration/Design
Ennio Guarnieri Cinematographer
Giuseppe Lanci Cinematographer
Roberta Mazzoni Screenwriter
Giulio Scanni Producer
Jost Steinbruchel Producer
Vangelis Score Composer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Chapter 1 [9:59]
2. Chapter 2 [9:56]
3. Chapter 3 [9:03]
4. Chapter 4 [10:14]
5. Chapter 5 [8:50]
6. Chapter 6 [13:27]
7. Chapter 7 [7:52]
8. Chapter 8 [8:16]
9. Chapter 9 [10:09]
10. Chapter 10 [10:21]
11. Chapter 11 [12:02]
12. Chapter 12 [8:23]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews