Director: Jaume Balagueró Cast: Calista Flockhart, Richard Roxburgh, Elena Anaya

DVD (Wide Screen)


A malevolent supernatural force besets a dilapidated children's hospital on the Isle of Man, terrifying the young patients and breaking their bones in this supernatural thriller from Spanish horror specialist Jaume Balagueró (The Nameless, [REC]). Mercy Falls Hospital has been in operation for nearly a hundred years, but now the authorities have declared it unfit for human inhabitation. As a result, the time has come for the hospital to close. But just as the helicopters arrive to transport the children to a new facility, bad weather forces them to remain grounded. Later, as Nurse Amy (Calista Flockhart) tends to her young charges, the children's bones begin to fracture for no apparent reason. Though the doctors remain baffled by the inexplicable injuries, the children sense something that the grown-ups do not. Somewhere in these crumbling corridors lurks a force of darkness consumed by pain, and filled with hatred. The children have dubbed it "The Mechanical Girl," and they claim to have stolen glimpses of it sobbing in the shadows. In order to banish the spirit and save the children, one brave soul will have to summon the courage to face a force powerful enough to cause physical damage, yet so fragile it might be completely destroyed by the slightest touch.

Product Details

Release Date: 09/28/2010
UPC: 0625828560804
Original Release: 2005
Rating: PG-13
Source: Peace Arch Trinity
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Wide Screen]
Sound: [Dolby Digital 5.1 Surround]
Time: 1:35:00

Special Features

Closed Caption; Behind-the-scenes; 8 Fangoria frights; Making of visual effects; Trailers

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Calista Flockhart Amy
Richard Roxburgh Robert
Elena Anaya Helen
Yasmine Murphy Maggie
Gemma Jones Sra. Folder
Colin McFarlane Roy
Michael Pennington Marcus
Susie Trayling Actor
Daniel Ortiz Matt

Technical Credits
Jaume Balagueró Director,Screenwriter
Alain Bainee Art Director
Roque Banos Score Composer
Félix Bergés Special Effects
Wendy Brazington Casting
Alma Casal Makeup
Carlos Fernandez Executive Producer
Dani Fontrodona Sound/Sound Designer
Jordi Galcerán Screenwriter
Xavi Giménez Cinematographer
Joan Ginard Producer
Fernando Izquierdo Asst. Director
Julio Fernández Executive Producer
Albert Manera Sound/Sound Designer
Jaume Marti Editor
Albert Martinez Martin Co-producer
Patricia Monne Costumes/Costume Designer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Fangoria FrightFest: Fragile
1. Opening Credits [:10]
2. Closed Off Since 1959 [9:51]
3. I Can't Sleep [7:54]
4. I'll Be There [8:52]
5. Need a Hand? [10:00]
6. That's Terrible [8:11]
7. Maggie [11:04]
8. Are You Sure? [6:27]
9. What is This? [9:30]
10. Get the Children Out [8:08]
11. Don't Move [1:33]
12. End Credits [4:41]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews