Elements of Orwellian science-fiction and old-fashioned prison dramas are combined in this futuristic action film, as an unjustly imprisoned couple attempts to escape from a high-tech jail known as The Fortress. The Fortress is the tool of a repressive government, an imposing, computerized hell, featuring lasers for cell bars, robot guards, computerized brainwashing, and the like. Still, some things never change, including the presence of an evil warden, who harasses the pretty wife while her husband frantically searches for a way out. The special effects and design work are effective, particularly in comparison to the film's modest budget, but the story will undoubtedly seem disappointingly predictable to many viewers. Nevertheless, the film's blend of competent (if unoriginal) action and technology proved enough of a draw to make the film a financial success internationally, though it received little notice in the United States.

Product Details

Release Date: 05/10/2011
UPC: 0096009753191
Original Release: 1993
Rating: R
Source: Miramax Echo Bridge
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:35:00

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Christopher Lambert John Brennick
Loryn Locklin Karen Brennick
Kurtwood Smith Poe
Lincoln Kilpatrick Abraham
Clifton Gonzalez Gonzalez Nino
Jeffrey Combs D-Day
Tom Towles Stiggs
Vernon Wells Maddox
Carolyn Purdy-Gordon Zed-10
Eric Briant Wells Border Guard
Peter Marshall Travel Authorization Guard
Michael Simpson Medical Trainee
Frederic Talgorn Conductor

Technical Credits
Stuart Gordon Director
Graham Burke Executive Producer
Gregory Coote Executive Producer
David Copping Production Designer
Allison Cowitt Casting
John Davis Producer
David Eggby Cinematographer
Steven Feinberg Associate Producer,Original Story,Screenwriter
Mike Fenton Casting
John Flock Producer
Terry Curtis Fox Screenwriter
Michael Lake Co-producer
Troy Neighbors Associate Producer,Original Story,Screenwriter
Neal Nordlinger Co-producer
Karla O'Keefe Makeup
Terry Ryan Costumes/Costume Designer
Frederic Talgorn Score Composer
David Venable Screenwriter
Tim Wellburn Editor

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Fortress
1. Inspection [6:26]
2. Crime Does Not Pay [4:58]
3. Red Is Death [6:56]
4. Sweet Dreams [5:00]
5. Nowhere to Hide [5:38]
6. Rise and Shine [7:33]
7. Mind Wipe [5:48]
8. Husk [5:44]
9. Opportunity [9:13]
10. Another Way [5:08]
11. Striking a Deal [5:48]
12. Confined to Quarters [4:46]
13. Power Shift [5:28]
14. Operating Room [7:46]
15. A New Beginning [8:46]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews