Earth/the End of St. Petersburg/Chess Fever

Earth/the End of St. Petersburg/Chess Fever

Director: Alexander Dovzhenko, Nikolai Shpikovsky Cast: Vsevolod Illarianovich Pudovkin, Alexander Chistyakov

DVD (Black & White)

$28.56 $29.99 Save 5% Current price is $28.56, Original price is $29.99. You Save 5%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Wednesday, October 16


Though not his first film, Russian director/cinema theorist V. I. Pudovkin's Chess Fever (Shakhmatanya goryachka) was the first to be released. Essentially a comedy, this 2-reel exercise in montage manages to make the game of chess seem thoroughly cinematic. Illustrating his theory that "The foundation of film art is editing," Pudovkin uses apparently unrelated images to fashion a smooth, well-integrated unified whole. He goes so far as to rabbet in shots of legendary chess master Capablanca so that his film will have a "star." Chess Fever was but a prologue for the Pudovkin masterpieces to come: Mother (1926), The End of St. Petersburg (1927) and Storm Over Asia (1928).

Product Details

Release Date: 05/13/2003
UPC: 0738329029821
Original Release: 0000
Rating: NR
Source: Kino Video
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [silent]
Time: 3:06:00
Sales rank: 70,408

Special Features

Closed Caption; [None specified]

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Alexander Chistyakov A worker
Semen Svashenko Vasili
Stepan Shkurat Vasili's father
Vera Baranovskaya His wife
Vladimir Fogel The Hero
Anatoly Ktorov Actor
Ivan Chuvelev Peasant boy
Mikola Nademsky Old Grandad
Anna Zemtsova The Heroine
V. Obolensky Actor
Yulia Solntseva Vasili's Sister
Nikolai Khmelev Actor
Yelena Maksimova Natalia, Vasili's Fiancee
Yuliy Rayzman Actor
Boris Barnet Actor
Ivan Franko Khoma's Father
Pyotr Masokha Khoma, Young Blond Villain

Technical Credits
Alexander Dovzhenko Director
Vsevolod Pudovkin Director
Nikolai Shpikovsky Director

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. Opening Titles [4:09]
2. The Old and the New [7:21]
3. A Source of Grief [7:02]
4. The Arrival [10:09]
5. The Promise of Prosperity [10:24]
6. Dark Is the Night [9:40]
7. "No God!" [7:14]
8. "Our Earth!" [11:36]
9. Harvest Time [3:53]
1. Opening Titles [7:30]
2. Capital of the Tsars [3:36]
3. The Profiteers [4:00]
4. The Immigrants [5:38]
5. Strike! [8:06]
6. Battle Lines [9:14]
7. A Lone Soldier [5:57]
8. "Mother Russia Calls!" [6:36]
9. Combat Zone [8:03]
10. "We Want Bread!" [5:35]
11. The Fugitive [10:48]
12. Poised for Battle [12:15]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews