David Oistrakh: Remembering a Musician

David Oistrakh: Remembering a Musician

Director:  Cast: David Oistrakh

DVD (Black & White)

$18.87 $19.99 Save 6% Current price is $18.87, Original price is $19.99. You Save 6%.
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Tuesday, October 22


A world-renowned legend of this century, violinist David Oistrakh (1908-1974) was known in his native Soviet Union as "King David." Born in Odessa, he was one of the only Jewish violin prodigies to remain in the U.S.S.R. Oistrakh began his solo career at age 20, specializing in works of the late-Classical and Romantic periods. This program featuring the master from Odessa includes excerpts from such works as Tchaikovsky's Violin Concerto, Bach's Concerto for Two Violins, Prokofiev's F-Minor Sonata, violin concertos of Shostakovich and Sibelius, and a Schumann piece accompanied by piano. ~ Kathryn Tamms

Product Details

Release Date: 03/25/2008
UPC: 0032031113091
Original Release: 1985
Source: Kultur Video
Presentation: [B&W]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:00:00
Sales rank: 72,226

Cast & Crew

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- David Oistrakh: Remembering a Musician
1. Introduction [:00]
2. Early Years [5:32]
3. Igor Oistrakh [3:28]
4. The Wieniawski Competition [3:49]
5. Performances During WWII [4:44]
6. A Friend of Soviet Composers [7:13]
7. Works Dedicated to Oistrakh [5:03]
8. The Moscow Conservatory [4:43]
9. Conducting Career [3:38]
10. Final Years [5:19]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews