Cinematographer Style

Cinematographer Style



Over a hundred leading cameramen (and women) discuss the fine art of motion picture photography in this documentary. Cinematographer Style is compiled from interviews with a broad cross section of respected cinematographers, ranging from award-winning veterans such as Gordon Willis (The Godfather), Vittorio Storaro (Apocalypse Now), Vilmos Zsigmond (Deliverance), and Haskell Wexler (One Flew Over the Cuckoo's Nest) to contemporary masters of the craft such as Roger Deakins (A Beautiful Mind), Peter Deming (Lost Highway), Ernest Dickerson (Do the Right Thing), and Remi Adefarasin (Match Point). While several participants discuss the tools of their trade, Cinematographer Style focuses as much on the philosophy behind photographing movies -- how they find a style that matches the material, their visual influences, how to prepare for a shoot, establishing a lighting and color scheme, and how "pretty" the image ought to be to match the story. Sponsored in part by Kodak, Cinematographer Style received its world premiere at the 2006 Los Angeles Film Festival.

Product Details

Release Date: 06/03/2013
UPC: 0767685112960
Original Release: 2006
Source: New Video Group
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:26:00

Special Features

Uncut interviews with legendary, award-winning filmmakers Vittorio Storaro, ASC, AIC and Gordon Willis, ASC; Filmmaker biography

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Howard A. Anderson Participant
Peter Anderson Participant
Russ T. Alsobrook Participant
Remi Adefarasin Participant
Michael Ballhaus Participant
Dion Beebe Participant
Bill Bennett Participant
Gabriel Beristain Participant
Larry Bridges Participant
Jonathan Brown Participant
Stephen H. Burum Participant
Bill Butler Participant
Bobby Byrne Participant
Russell Carpenter Participant
James Chressanthis Participant
Peter Lyons Collister Participant
Jack Cooperman Participant
Ericson Core Participant
Richard Crudo Participant
Dean Cundey Participant
Oliver Curtis Participant
Don E. Fauntleroy Actor
Allen Daviau Participant
Roger Deakins Participant
Peter Deming Participant
Caleb Deschanel Participant
Ron Dexter Participant
George Spiro Dibie Participant
Ernest R. Dickerson Participant
Bill Dill Participant
Richard Edlund Participant
Jon Fauer Participant
Steven Fierberg Participant
William A. Fraker Participant
Michael K. Goi Participant
Stephen Goldblatt Participant
Jack N. Green Participant
Adam Greenberg Participant
Robbie Greenberg Participant
Henner Hofmann Participant
Ernest Holzman Participant
Gil Hubbs Participant
Judy Irola Participant
Mark Irwin Participant
Levie Isaacks Participant
Johnny E. Jensen Participant
Victor J. Kemper Participant
Francis Kenny Participant
Richard H. Kline Participant
Fred Koenekamp Participant
Laszlo Kovacs Participant
Ellen Kuras Participant
Jacek Laskus Participant
Andrew Laszlo Participant
Denis Lenoir Participant
Matthew Leonetti Participant
Peter Levy Participant
Matthew J. Libatique Participant
Stephen Lighthill Participant
Karl Walter Lindenlaub Participant
Bruce Logan Participant
Julio Macat Participant
Isidore Mankofsky Participant
Chris Manley Participant
Steve Mason Participant
Clark Mathis Participant
Don McCuaig Participant
Robert McLachlan Participant
Charles Minsky Participant
Donald M. Morgan Participant
M. David Mullen Participant
Kramer Morgenthau Participant
Fred Murphy Participant
Hiro Narita Participant
Michael Negrin Participant
Sol Negrin Participant
Daryn Okada Participant
Woody Omens Participant
Daniel Pearl Participant
Ferne Pearlstein Participant
Wally Pfister Participant
Bill Pope Participant
Steven Poster Participant
Robert Primes Participant
Anthony Richmond Participant
Owen Roizman Participant
Pete Romano Participant
Paul Ryan Participant
Nancy Schreiber Participant
John Schwartzman Participant
John Seale Participant
Dean Semler Participant
Michael Seresin Participant
Steven Shaw Participant
Newton Thomas Sigel Participant
John Toll Participant
Dante Spinotti Participant
Ueli Steiger Participant
Amelia Vincent Participant

Technical Credits
Jon Fauer Director,Cinematographer,Producer
Volker Bahnemann Executive Producer
Christian Bischoff Score Composer
Matthew R. Blute Editor
Fred Burnham Sound/Sound Designer
Robert Gravenor Sound/Sound Designer
Jeff Hawkins Sound/Sound Designer
Brian Heller Cinematographer
Tom Holman Sound/Sound Designer
Bob Israel Sound/Sound Designer
David Kirschner Sound/Sound Designer
Jeffrey Laszlo Cinematographer
David Morgan Cinematographer
Geoffrey Patterson Sound/Sound Designer
Florian Schlagbauer Score Composer
Thomas Schlagbauer Score Composer
Julian Townsend Sound/Sound Designer
Franz Wieser Associate Producer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Cinematographer Style
1. Characters [5:10]
2. Getting Started [16:53]
3. Style [29:03]
4. Lighting [12:45]
5. Technology [17:35]
6. Credits [4:41]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews