Chronicle of Anna Magdalena Bach

Chronicle of Anna Magdalena Bach

DVD (Subtitled)

$28.17 $29.99 Save 6% Current price is $28.17, Original price is $29.99. You Save 6%.
View All Available Formats & Editions
Choose Expedited Shipping at checkout for guaranteed delivery by Friday, October 25


The widow of Bach reminisces in this biography. Her life with the great composer was not easy. He seldom spoke to her. When he did, it was only to read letters of complaint. Included are performances of Bach's works including the "Brandenburg Concerto No. 5," "Prelude 6 from the Little Clavier Book for Wilhelm Friedemann Bach," "Minuet 2 of the Suite in D Minor from the Little Clavier Book for Anna Magdalena Bach," "Sonata No. 2 in D Major for Viola and Harpsichord," "Partita in E Minor from the Little Clavier Book for Anna Magdalena Bach," "Trio-sonata No. 2 in C Minor," "Magnificat in D Major, St. Matthew Passion," "Prelude in B Minor for Organ," "Mass in B Minor," "Ascension Oratorio," "Clavier-Uebung Italian Concerto," "Goldberg Variations," "Musical Offering," "Art of the Fugue" "Corale for Organ," and "Cantatas No. 205," "198," "244," "42," "215," "140," "82."

Product Details

Release Date: 02/19/2019
UPC: 0853294007275
Original Release: 1968
Rating: NR
Source: Grasshopper Film
Time: 1:34:00
Sales rank: 40,470

Special Features

Jean-Marie Straub introduces Chronicle at the Swiss Film Archive (2013, 34 minutes); Interview with actress Christiane Lang-Drewanz (2012, 30 minutes); "The Cinema of Straub & Huillet," an introduction by author Alicia Malone for FilmStruck (5 minutes); The Bridegroom, the Actress, and the Pimp (1968, 23 minutes), a short film by Jean-Marie Straub and Danièle Huillet featuring Rainer Werner Fassbinder; The Mother (2011, 20 minutes), a short film by Jean-Marie Straub; Theatrical trailer

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Paolo Carlini Hoelzel
Concentus Musicus Actor
Hanover Boys Choir Actor
Wolfgang Schöne Singer in Cantata No. 82
Bernd Weikl Singer in Cantata No. 205
Nikolaus Harnoncourt Prince of Anhalt-Coethen
Gustav Leonhardt Actor
Christiane Lang Actor

Technical Credits
Jean-Marie Straub Director,Editor,Screenwriter
Gian Vittorio Baldi Producer
Giovanni Canfarelli Cinematographer
Saverio Diamanti Cinematographer
Heinz Hennig Musical Direction/Supervision
Louis Hochet Sound/Sound Designer
Danièle Huillet Editor,Production Designer,Screenwriter
Lucien Moreau Sound/Sound Designer
Ugo Piccone Cinematographer

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Chronicle of Anna Magdalena Bach
1. Chapter 1
2. Chapter 2
3. Chapter 3
4. Chapter 4
5. Chapter 5
6. Chapter 6
7. Chapter 7
8. Chapter 8
9. Chapter 9
10. Chapter 10
11. Chapter 11
12. Chapter 12

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews