Cadfael: One Corpse Too Many

Cadfael: One Corpse Too Many

Director: Graham Theakston Cast: Derek Jacobi, Sean Pertwee, Peter Copley


View All Available Formats & Editions


Based on the novel by Ellis Peters, "One Corpse Too Many" was the first of thirteen 90-minute Cadfael mysteries, focusing on the exploits of a murder-solving monk in 12th century Shrewsbury. While sifting through the bodies of rebels recently executed on the orders of King Stephan (Michael Grandage), Brother Cadfael (Derek Jacobi stumbles across a corpse that doesn't belong there. With the help of his unofficial assistant, landowner/sheriff Hugh Beringer (Sean Pertwee), Cadfael assembles the necessary evidence to uncover a murderer. Adapted for television by Paul Pendar, "One Corpse Too Many" originally aired in Britain on May 29, 1994, and shortly thereafter was seen in America as part of PBS' Mystery anthology.

Product Details

Release Date: 01/06/2004
UPC: 0054961659593
Original Release: 1994
Rating: NR
Source: Acorn Media
Sound: [Dolby Digital Stereo]
Time: 1:15:00

Special Features

Exclusive audio comments by Derek Jaobi, Ellis Peters biography and booklist, production scrapbook, English subtitles, filmographies and scene index

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Derek Jacobi Brother Cadfael
Sean Pertwee Hugh Beringar
Peter Copley Abbot Heribert
Michael Culver Prior Robert
Julian Firth Brother Jerome
Christian Burgess Adam Courcelle
Michael Grandage King Stephen
Richard Henders Torold Blund
Juliette Caton Godith Blund
Jeremy Young Arnulf of Hesdin
David Garfield Sgt. Rhys
Maggie O'Neill Aline Siward
Geoffrey Leesley Sheriff Prestcote
Bill Neville Nicholas Faintree
Nigel Hastings Giles Siward
Robert Oates Edric Flescher
Marlene Sidaway Flescher's Wife
Michael Cadman Fitzalan
Sandor Teri Adeney
Gregory Body Kitchen Boy
Zoltan Papp Capt. Ten Heyt
Albie Woodington Sgt. Warden
Ray Llewellyn Madog

Technical Credits
Graham Theakston Director
Ted Childs Executive Producer
Russell Lewis Screenwriter
Stephen Smallwood Producer

Scene Index

Side #1 --
1. The King's Men [7:48]
2. Late [9:09]
3. Body Count [10:26]
4. Bride Hunting [11:25]
5. Poor Squire [12:45]
6. She's Safe [7:10]
7. Side By Side [5:37]
8. Beringar Explains [11:08]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews