Director: Gillo Pontecorvo Cast: Marlon Brando, Evaristo Marquez, Renato Salvatori

DVD (Letterbox)


Sir William Walker (Marlon Brando) is the aristocratic secret agent sent by Britain to secure a profitable Portuguese sugar cane plantation for the Crown. When he arrives, he befriends the black dockworker Jose (Evaristo Marquez) and plants revolutionary ideas in his head. Walker talks Jose into robbing a bank and builds him up as a national hero in the process. Teddy Sanchez (Renato Salvatori) is the hotel desk clerk with political aspirations who falls under Walker's spell. The blacks revolt on the night of a festival parade that allows them to be disguised and move around without suspicion. Jose turns his troops over to Teddy, who assumes control of the island. Walker returns to Britain but is summoned ten years later to stop a revolution led by Jose against the now corrupt government headed by Teddy. British troops attack the island and hundreds are killed including Teddy who is executed for treason. The sugar cane crops perish in flames when Jose mounts an attack against the British. When William offers him freedom, Jose refuses by stating "freedom is something you take for yourself." Jose is assassinated and becomes yet another martyr for the cause against colonialism. A drunk and despondent William prepares to leave the island realizing he is just as much a pawn as the men he initially incited to revolt.

Product Details

Release Date: 11/08/2005
UPC: 0027616125354
Original Release: 1969
Rating: R
Source: Mgm (Video & Dvd)
Region Code: 1
Presentation: [Letterbox]
Sound: [Dolby Digital Mono]
Time: 1:52:00

Special Features

Closed Caption

Cast & Crew

Performance Credits
Marlon Brando Sir William Walker
Evaristo Marquez Jose Dolores
Renato Salvatori Teddy Sanchez
Norman Hill Shelton
Tom Lyons Gen.Prada
Wanani Guarina
Joseph P. Persaud Juanito
Giampiero Albertini Henry
Carlo Palmucci Jack
Cicely Browne Lady Bella
Maurice Rodriguez Ramon
Alejandro Obregon English Major
Dana Ghia Francesca

Technical Credits
Gillo Pontecorvo Director
Giorgio Arlorio Original Story,Screenwriter
Sergio Canevari Art Director
Aldo Gasparri Special Effects
Marcello Gatti Cinematographer
Piero Gherardi Art Director,Production Designer
Alberto Grimaldi Producer
Mario Morra Editor
Ennio Morricone Score Composer
Franco Solinas Original Story,Screenwriter

Scene Index

Disc #1 -- Burn!
1. Start [3:23]
2. Late Arrival [4:04]
3. Searching for Courage [7:50]
4. To Be Rich and Free [12:38]
5. Manipulating the Revolt [9:27]
6. And They Will Come [8:29]
7. Learning Civilization [10:12]
8. Ten Years Later [7:30]
9. "I Will Drink No More" [15:51]
10. Under British Control [10:20]
11. Hunted and Pursued [11:55]
12. Martyr for Freedom [10:30]

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

See All Customer Reviews